“Winter Comes Too Soon”, a poem

 

 
This logo above is the Narcissists Slayer Award.  I am honored to receive from CZBZ’s blog (to the right side listed).  CZ is a phen. writer and especially on narcissism and what it does in our lives and in general society. At first I thought the logo was a nose, or perhaps garlic (I think it is…..But I am honored, I tell ya.)  I don’t write too much anymore on Narcissism, but damn If I haven’t got them in my FOO (Family Of Origin).  It’s like walking in a cow pasture around narcissists.  Thank you, CZ!
 
Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

 

mignot-winter-skating-scene

WINTER COMES TOO SOON

Autumn,

That too-fickle season

Has thrown off Joseph’s coat

And turned to winter.

-

Gone the leaves

Brilliant matinees of airborne jewels

Illuminated in prismatic splendor

By the sun piercing a brittle blue sky–

Replaced with blackened limbs

Stretching naked arms towards a glowering sky.

-

The season of alms and hunger has begun.

Gone the pelting rains

Which poured down window panes

Like crinkled crepe paper

Distorting the view of the shearing outside.

-

Gone too, are the golden sunsets

Where a beam of light transposes

Distant trees, paints the belly of clouds.

-

The leaves and color are gone

And that is as it should be.

What is now outside

Hints at what is beginning inside–

A long passage through a muted season.

-

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2013

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to ““Winter Comes Too Soon”, a poem”

  1. Caliban's Sister Says:

    LOVE this painting too.

  2. ladynyo Says:

    wish it was mine….I had it in a file, but didn’t have the painter included….I believe it is early Dutch.

    Thanks, CS….and Happy New Year!

    Love, Jane

  3. czbz Says:

    Lovely, Jane…the crystal vase is elegant, the painting wonderful and the poem rich and sensitive.

    I nominated you for a “narcissist slayer” award if you have time to visit my blog today: http://n-continuum.blogspot.com/2013/12/you-can-call-me-rick-or-you-can-call-me.html

    Happy New Years!

    Love,
    CZ

  4. ladynyo Says:

    I am so Honored!!!! Thank you, and a wonderful New Year to You, CZ.

    without your writing, I think many of us would be shuffling off in circles. LOL!

    Love,
    Jane

  5. TR Says:

    The painting is beautiful – everyone on the natural ice.

    My favourite bit from the poem:
    What is now outside

    Hints at what is beginning inside–

    A long passage through a muted season.

    Appreciating more of what winter has to offer :).

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Yep…to me, TR, winter gives calm and peace, a serenity and silence…a sparseness of palette that is a healing balm to our pysches. Sometimes! When the damn dogs aren’t howling or fighting the back yard. LOL!

    It is a long passage of fertility in the making…this winter…or can be. It’s all how we apply it. I love winter best because it concentrates the senses and can be the most productive season of all…

    Hugs, Jane

  7. เช่า ts3 Says:

    I have be shown a several nutrients below. Definitely really worth social bookmarking for returning to. I ponder simply how much endeavor you add to create the kind of excellent insightful internet site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

