“Stayvacation With Hana” (German Shepherd)

Fred is attending his sister’s and brother in laws 50th wedding anniversary. YaY.

I decided to stay here with Hana and the cats. Hana has only been her 1.5 years and she might think that we have abandoned her. Also, since Covid, the vet clinics are iffy around Atlanta. Personel that has shifted, vets, too and a ;public left with little choices for their pets. So, Hana and I get to prowl the house. She will sleep in our bed when I let her. LOL.

Prowel….good word but doesn’t explain the garbage I am throwing away, (all sorts) and the clothes that i will run up the street (literally) to the Russell Crow Church for the Hearing Impared. Used to be called the “deaf and dumb church’. It has been around since 1900 here on our street. You couldn’t meet nicer people in their downstairs kitchen and with loads of tables spread out with so much great stuff. Before Covid I bought quite a few nice leather jackets, tweeds there. Nice people. And they always greet with a hug and insist you eat. LOL.

So, this is a wonderful weekend. Hana and I and the cats and chickens (fish, too) have a sorta stayvacation but I have the suberu, and can go anywhere. I haven’t driven this new car in 4 years but when I did I ran up on a violent, snarely curb and busted a new tire. LOL. Fred watches me like a hawk when I try to drive. But Hell’s Bells…..I haven’t driven in 4 years!

Last night I was thinking of a couple of my dead neighbors, all black people that came early to this neighborhood,.. circa1974. The Browns, who were elderly when they moved here from the countryside somewhere….farming turf. Mrs. Brown was a great semstress. She made me an apron every 6 months for years. I didn’t know what to do with them but I remember her great kindness. She was a trip., A folk artist in oils and found objects and such a wonderful and compasionate woman. I have many memories of her and Mr. Brown. He wore his suspenders arond his chest. LOL. He was the anti drop pants crowd that clucked their tongues at the young bloods. LOL He also shot squirrel for dinner and shot my cat Ursa in the pelt. Ursa lived but never went hunting on Boss Brown’s land again.

Years ago I realized the Joel Chandler Harris lived only a mile from our house. My son Christopher and I used to grab breakfast and sit in the shaded parking lot. Surrounded by Dogwood trees, azeala bushs in bloom, daffs, and a few weak tulips. Those visits to the scary Victorian house a constant part of our homeschooling him.

All reactions:

3You, Lynn Morrell and Michal Glines

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.