Hurrah!! My First Royalty Check Cometh!

It’s not a huge check, not enough for much more than a good dinner out, or a nice pair of shoes, or a new pair of earrings, but!

It’s my first from “A Seasoning of Lust” and reflects that some readers out  there are buying the book.

Yahoo!!!!  Ok, I am just thrilled because I didn’t EXPECT a royalty check at all…forgot about this possibility  because it’s just 6 months from the publication of the book and well, I just didn’t expect this.

However, it’s welcome but I think it means something bigger than the money.  It means that writing has the potential for something larger than just satisfaction of writing stories…..you might be able to define  yourself as a writer.  Actually it validates something much more important than food/money, etc.  It means that your work, your writing imagination has value and perhaps  you can do it again.

And again.

A bit of  impetus to work towards that.

There is a present downside to all of this writing, though.  I recently cleared the decks by ditching some memberships to different writer websites and at the same time, I had to make it clear that just because I sat home and wrote, it didn’t mean I was doing nothing.  I have some girlfriends who have their noses out of joint right now, and some of them dear bellydancer-girlfriends, but damnit….I AM working.  Just because I sit here all day at a desk doesn’t mean that I am messing around.  Well, I am messing around, but I also am working.

And that’s the rub about being a writer:  You have to dedicate the time and energy, be rather single minded and a bit selfish and work at it.  It doesn’t come easy, and it doesn’t come quickly.  It’s been only 3 years really that I decided perhaps I could write novels and stories, so in a way, it has come quickly.

The first publication of “A Seasoning of Lust” was something I did because I was ready:  two years of writing and more writing and keeping my nose to the grindstone (with a LOT of distractions…) paid off in this manuscript.  Bill Penrose of ERWA took it and formatted it into a book.  The only downside to me now is that I wasn’t a better writer, and have ended up rewriting two of the three long stories in there.  But I am told this is what happens when you publish.  There is always room for lots of improvement.

I am working on another manuscript for my husband to take to Chicago next week….for a printer there.  It’s just a test run to see what this book will look like.  I thought of using the name “White Cranes of Heaven” but that is the new short story and poetry book to follow.  I don’t want to blow a good title on something that might not fit.  This next book (Chicago printing) will be the novella “The Zar Tales” and a few like-minded stories.  It was something that dropped in my lap and my husband is pushing this.  I am trying to rewrite carefully something I wrote 2 years ago.  Again, what we write two years ago ain’t what we are now…Not as writers.  At least at this stage of the game.

Oh yeah.  Shameless promotion.  If you are interested in “A Seasoning of Lust”, it’s published by lulu. com.

The website address for the book,( takes you to the colorful  cover and promotional stuff) is here:

http://www.lulu.com/content/5739484

Cheers!

Lady Nyo

PS:  Rereading this entry, well, it didn’t turn out ….the Chicago thing….like I imagined.   I finally saw there  would be more work needed  on “The Zar Tales”  so I put together a shorter book:  “The Lady Nyo Poems and other Verse”  and sent it up.  The cover is posted on Sunday’s blog entry and a short message about that book.  It will be reprinted later with some other works of the same theme.

“The Zar Tales” will come later this year.  That’s a novella.

I have learned something from the readers of “A Seasoning of Lust”.  Too many themes can confuse readers.  Not all, but those who aren’t used to so many different cultural offerings…well, it can lend to confusion.  Perhaps when you settle into one group of stories all of the same culture, and then change to another culture, it takes some work to adjust comfortably.  And that book, I am told, is not ‘a fast read’.

You live and learn….

Lady Nyo again.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Hurrah!! My First Royalty Check Cometh!”

  1. Berowne Says:

    Congratulations!

    (And may I say how much easier this post is to respond to. I was scratching my head trying to think of something useful and not completely vacuous to say about “natural order” and that other stuff, sort of flailing around in the deep end of the intellectual pool.)

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    ROTF! Berowne!

    Thank you, thank you! At least you were not flailing around in that gene pool.

    Deep dodo down there.

    And the Natural Order stuff (always sounds like Nazi stuff to me…..) is so full of issues. Perhaps there is a Natural Order, but not in the ways of some proponents.

    I am sure I am about to hear of this, in any case ….or perhaps people who read this blog just think it’s a big yawn.

    Thanks again.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. shia1 Says:

    Wow, a royalty check. How fun and surprised you must have been. Good for you! Continued success and may there be many more checks.

    I know you can do it. You are a writer, a passionate one.

    shia

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Yup! Quite a surprise. Usually something like that I would have thrown away because I thought it just more advertisement to buy a product. I am wondering if I did throw away the “first quarter” check…because this said ‘second quarter”. LOL!

    Oh well, teaches me to read my mail before discarding.

    Thanks, shia. Funny, it makes me want to work harder, which I guess is the point of it all.

    Jane

    Like

  5. katiewritesagain Says:

    Janie!
    Congratulations on the check!! Make a copy and frame it. Put it where you will see it-in your office with all your other writing stuff. One day, when your royalty checks are so big the come with their own wheels you can remind yourself of these humble beginnings and feel even better! You’re a terrific writer. Yes, this is a motivator. Good for you and keep writing!

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Katie! I just did! I framed the bugger.

    I am blushing now….but people told me to do that….. and who am I to buck it?

    Royalty checks that come with their own wheels!! ROTF!!

    Oh Katie, would that we both live that long…..tehe.

    Thank you so much, Katie…we have Quite a long history together, and you are a prime motivator for me.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

