Done….mostly.

A collection of short stories and a novella

A collection of short stories and a novella

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Done….mostly.”

  1. Margie Says:

    Yay!!!!! Great cover, is there preordering?

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Shoot, Margie….

    It’s got to be sent to the publisher first….LOL! I just finished the damn ms tonight. I am punchy.

    Bill Penrose has graciously stood to the task of formatting it for lulu.com again. Without Bill, I would be sitting here crying, all thumbs. The formatting is beyond me, though I have done the ms now…in the correct style for the book.

    However, Bill is the expert and can insert the photos on the back, the blurbs, etc…and all that legal stuff inside on the front pages.

    Without Bill, Lady Nyo would have no scrolls to stuff somewhere. (“Bad Karma”)

    That cover is a pix of a sculpture from the Ivory Coast I bought years ago. I loved the face so much, and didn’t see the bird on the head until I got it home.

    LOL!…Since the Zar mythology and practice is fervent in Africa, I thought the mask a good ‘prop’ for the cover.

    Glad you like it, darling. I am going to send a copy to Donnie when it’s printed. That will knock his socks off….LOL! (He has the same sense of humor as Uncle Zoltan did)

    Love you!

    Like

  3. shia1 Says:

    I love the cover. Good luck on the book

    shia

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, shia!

    Bill suggested some changes….minor ones…but he’s the expert, and thinking of the margins, bleeds, etc.

    I had that mask in mind for a while….I love it…and it’s hanging in the front of the house. It seems so mysterious to me, and I’ve had it for years. It’s like it’s got it’s own stories….

    This book is going to be so different from the first one. I talked to Steve Issak and others about this…the theme…and that there is only ONE theme that unites these pieces….and I think it will be less ‘confusing’ to readers/buyers.

    But like some others have said: you could pull from that first book for a while to create other books…and I will be doing that for a while.

    A first book has a lot of issues, and this book more than many I think. There were so many different themes to it….that this is possible….

    But getting it out there was a big step.

    Now that “The Zar Tales” is in the hopper, I am going to do the ‘purely poetry’ book….
    something I have been wanting to do for about two years. This will probably bring it’s own set of complaints…..I’m counting on it.

    Next week I’ll do a sum up on the inners of this new book,(Zars) but right now I am planning some more interviews with writers…and a further extensive interview with Bill Gaius.

    And….Steve Issak has agreed to an interview. Now, this cat I really don’t ‘get’! LOL!…at least some of his works….he’s like an Alien Hindu guerrilla/temple dancer plopped down in a shopping mall to terrorize the strollers.

    And he’s funny.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  5. Malcolm Says:

    Congratulations on getting the new book finished and ready. I’m glad you have some expert help – it’s not easy doing it all alone AND getting it all right. The cover is striking and of course it represents a sort of personal signature – at least the covers of all my books seem to be that. I look forward to seeing it on sale.

    I applaud your brave plan to produce a book of poems. I’m not sure why I do this, apart from pure vanity. Maybe just because I can.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Malcolm.

    Bill has been a life-saver for me. I have no technical computer knowledge and he does….

    He’s the Man!

    The poetry book..well, of course that would appeal to you…you have 4 now? I think it’s our insistent love of poetry…our own mostly…LOL!

    Who cares if nobody buys our poetry?? We write it for ourselves ultimately, though we slant it across the laps of others….I love it when people read and say “__________”….anything, actually….because acknowledging our poetry is something that strikes deep in the heart of us.

    Vanity, ego, whatever…it’s at the core for some reason.

    There was once a man who rarely commented on anything I wrote, unless it was a piece of poetry. This man was nothing of a poet….in fact, his writing was rather ‘horrific’ to most minds. But he did appreciate…or at least commented on some of my poetry, and that was the first thing that made me think he was a bit human.

    A small saving grace, but one nonetheless….like finding molecules of water on the moon.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  7. Stefano Says:

    Striking and intriguing cover. I have some questions of the shadow and the graininess though… you can kick my sorry a*s tomorrow…if you can find me!

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    hehe…..oh, I’ll find you. LOL!

    But you are right…I don’t know what to do with that…you know I can’t shoot a camera for beans. I am hoping Bill Penrose will be able to work his magic with that….!

    Any suggestions will be applied and appreciated, friend.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

