A few Tanka….

Autumn in all its glory

Autumn means tanka for me.  Autumn and winter for some reason.  I am trying to get back into the swing of tanka, but right now my attention is divided.

Ah, life….and love.

1.

A glimpse of  white wrist,

Surge of blood beneath the skin-

This is seduction!

But catch a wry, cunning smile

One learns all is artifice.

2.

Give me a moment!

Let me catch breath and settle.

Give me some peace now.

Stop kissing my hands, stop it!

What if someone is watching?

3.

Presence of Autumn

Burst of colors radiates

From Earth-bound anchors

Sun grabs prismatic beauty

And tosses the spectrum wide!

Lady Nyo

Copyrighted, 2009

Tags:

6 Responses to “A few Tanka….”

  1. Malcolm Says:

    Beautiful modern tanka. I’ve tried tanka, but just can’t do as well as you have with these!

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Malcolm…

    for some reason, these seem off to me….I don’t know why, but I think it’s possibly ‘evidence’ of some internal growth…when we can look more critically at our own work and go…’ugh’.

    I have to get back into the swing of tanka…I love the form more than anything. It seems so ….balanced and complete to me.

    Well, the form does….what the form contains is another issue.

    I think when we feel this way about our work (unease) we have to step back and reconsider some things. What was the mental/emotional environment when we wrote these things??? (and this can be applied to any writing…not just tanka).

    Have we moved away from this and what are we attempting to replace it with? Or are we?

    I think….I am beginning to think…that so much of our work is colored by things we really don’t have control over.

    And when we do have more control over an emotional environment?? Can we write so close to the bone/heart???

    I just don’t know yet. Perhaps this period of struggle to get together (final stuff) “The Zar Tales” has thrown my taste sensors off badly?

    Like

  3. Berowne Says:

    > this period of struggle to get together (final stuff) “The Zar Tales”

    So, how is the book coming along?

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Fine….some rewrite facing me right now, but this is the way of things publishable.

    And it’s actually harder this time with a shorter book…I have learned some things from the first book….

    But it’s still a very exciting process.

    Thanks for asking…how’s the kitchen re-do coming??

    Like

  5. Berowne Says:

    > how’s the kitchen re-do coming?

    We eagerly await the return of a sink, cabinets, and countertop; right now it’s like living in a motel, with the microwave and toaster on tables in the living room and doing dishes in a tiny bathroom. After some Plain Speaking with the project manager about him slipping the end date – assuming nothing goes wrong – from the 20th to the 24th (our big Thanksgiving potluck is on the 26th as I told him two months ago), he has mirabile dictu managed to find subcontractors and move the completion back up to the 19th. They’re measuring for the Corian as I type.

    I think tomorrow we’ll head into S.F. and North Beach for some opera on the jukebox and espresso and homemade minestrone at Cafe Puccini, to get away from the scene of devastation here. CP is one of my favorite run-away-to places. And maybe pick up a bag of truffle gnocchi at Molinari’s Deli for later. Almost makes roughing it worthwhile.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Heard an opera of Handel’s yesterday. I can’t remember the name….but it wasn’t Alcinda…(I probably got that one wrong, too).

    But I love Handelian opera. Problem is….he uses the same tunes….arias, in other places, scores, so if you like it…you have a good chance of hearing it again in another piece.

    It doesn’t sound a BIT like you are roughing it….LOL!…especially with the ‘truffle gnocchi’.

    Huh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

