“Winter Afternoon”

Today is the Winter Solstice.  It is, and has been,  a rather sacred time for me.  It signals, officially, that ‘dark, mysterious season, where the light doesn’t quite reach the ground.’

It also puts in place the leisure for reading Robert Frost and Robert Burns and other wintertime poets, or those who feel like wintertime poets to me.  I try to do this every year, but life gets in the way.

Even though we are in the South, I pray for snow, because there is no better time, once the woodstove is stocked, to sit back with a hot drink and read poetry.

I will work on a poem soon because…well, there won’t be too many more events of this nature to write poetry around, and it’s a precious time for me…especially this year.

Lady Nyo

“Winter Afternoon”

Winters pale afternoon

Creeps into night like skim milk

Poured from one china bowl to another.

The thin crescent moon appears,

A broken cup of feeble light

That spills upon the ground,

Too watery to brighten the road.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted 2009

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to ““Winter Afternoon””

  1. Berowne Says:

    I recall seeing that poem earlier; I like it. I have a small solstice tradition of holding up a stick vertically at solar noon and measuring the length of the shadow, to calculate what latitude I’m at. It was too cloudy yesterday, but I may try it today.

    You might enjoy a poem the actors and audience recite at every Revels, about “The Shortest Day”: http://www.thelostland.com/shortest.htm

    You know, I think the wind has changed on your blog page; now the snow is drifting the other way.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!! About the snow…it’s an equal opportunity snowfall….left and right on equal time.

    I like that idea of measuring the length of the shadow….I’ll try to do that today…or tomorrow.

    And thank you for the poem. Keep the good news coming, dear friend.

    And thank you for reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

