Some Words to Ponder….

I have been given a manuscript of marvelous poetry to read.  Soon I will have an interview on the blog with the author, who is a dear and encouraging friend.

I met him, this international poet, in the autumn of 2008, when I was really doubting myself, my abilities, my purpose in life.

I passed through that troubling period.   But the time I spent within that realm  made me rethink a lot of things. Mostly about influences we pick up along the way and whether they are healthy, positive or destructive.  I think there are many things destructive to the human spirit.  If I didn’t believe that before, I certainly do now.

My poet friend threw me a lifeline.  I needed that right then because everything seemed up in the air.  His gentle encouragement and just ‘talk’ about life was very much part of that recovery of the spirit and senses.

Under the love and influence of my husband, my friends and especially my writer friends, I came to realize the words below are not untrue: they are a good standard to carry in this battle of life.   Our playing small does not serve the world.  It only placates the mediocre.

Lady Nyo

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Some Words to Ponder….”

  1. Nick Nicholson Says:

    I’ve always liked that quote, it’s very inspiring. Thanks for posting it, Jane, it’s good to be reminded of it.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Nick!
    You are right…but that is the first time I ever read it! I am really behind on these things…

    But it’s a powerful and insightful quote. Something to ponder and embrace.

    My very best!

    Like

  3. Steve Says:

    Great inspiration that comes at a seemingly desperate times! Thanks for sharing that.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Steve.

    It’s sometimes, as you describe, “a seemingly desperate times”. What has been happening in our neighborhood recently has been an example of that.

    I think we just…..like the generation before us……breathe deeply and plow on. Life doesn’t stop because of ‘conditions’…regardless how much they may be flying mackerels slapping us around.

    I guess that is why this quote of Williamson’s is so timely.

    Thank you for reading and dropping a comment.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

