“Mirage”


We do so much to impart a wisdom

To that which has no wisdom,

Just a craving need.

We hide this need

Behind fine words, deep thoughts,

Fool with a twisting

Of desires,

And in the end,

The craving is not satisfied,

We are still hungry,

Going on to another dish.

There is little we can do

To change the course of life

Except to fast,

And in this shortness of bread,

Realize–

Our hunger was only a mirage.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyright,  2009

Tags: ,

4 Responses to ““Mirage””

  1. Berowne Says:

    Intriguing, Jane; but a bit enigmatic. Is there a key to the riddle or is it meant to remain a mystery?

    I take it that ‘craving need’ in the first stanza modifies ‘we’ rather than ‘that which has no wisdom’, yes? So the wisdom-less aren’t seeking it, but rather ‘we’ are forcing it on them, until we give up the effort and seek another dish?

    I see a good concept here; I hope you continue to work on its expression.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Berowne!

    I can’t even get my head around your questions right now. I will have to reread my own poem later, bud. Though, for poets, we write poems and they seem clear without the many layers that some readers seem to unearth.

    It was a very simple statement made in a particular point of time where what ‘we’ (me, actually) considered essential….after the passage of time….turned out to be ….nothing that important. Hence, the issue of ‘mirage’. I can’t get my head around this ‘wisdom-less’ stuff.

    And….there are other more important issues right now…Our electrical system exploded…..bad insulation, and the whole house went down. Computer and printer fried, other electronics, etc….no power for 5 days now and they are working 15 hours a day to get it up and running. There is a huge expense here entailed, but so goes life.

    130 year old house and the electrical hasn’t been totally upgraded in many years. Husband has been adding as we go, but the box needed to be totally changed.
    So….Other issues right now, Friend Berowne. Plus I still don’t know if my files are fried. If so, I have lost 3 years of work…or at least the last 8 months depending on the backup my son did this summer.

    So…I’ll be off line for a few more and then the clean up and hopefully restore.

    Jane

    Like

  3. Berowne Says:

    > If so, I have lost 3 years of work…or at least the last 8 months depending on the backup

    I may have your posts to ERWA and e-mails to me archived. Let me know if you would like me to look for them. Also there are data recovery services who can do miracles with seemingly lost data. (One note on that; it’s best not to do anything to the disk if it appears to have a problem, but just take it to the service.)

    Fingers crossed for a quick and successful recovery; of your files, your house, and everyone’s health. Did I miss anything? 🙂

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Berowne~!

    Seems like everythinng is ok right now….except for the 493 emails awaiting me…..LOL!

    The files are ok….and that was what I was so worried about, Berowne. To lose all this work would kill me….well, probably not…I have all these cats and dogs to live for….

    LOL!

    And thank you, dear friend for offering your compassionate help.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

