BOOM!! POP!! Lights out…..

This is going to be very short, which is a new leaf for me.

Friday we had a power surge, and one half of the house went very bright: Like going towards the Light….and then everything went Dark.

Insulation apparently gave up the ghost on the service wire leading into the house…and again in the basement….and everything fried.

I am using a good friend and neighbor’s computer, (Steve) with this damn curvy keyboard, but it does work…which is loads better than my fried and smelling computer, clocks, electronics, dishwasher, stove, fridge…etc.

A royal mess at Clach Mhullinn…which is the Gaelic name of our house:  “Millstone Around Our Neck”.

At least we have a woodstove and water…cold water and we have to take birdbaths from water heated on the woodstove, but it’s rather pleasant…for now…and it won’t last forever.

The workmen are here  from “Mr. Sparky” and there goes another year of vacations…probably 3 years.  But what the hell, we are together, and after the last two weeks where Fred was in the hospital, I am very grateful.  Washing his long hair in the bath and poring cold and hot water over him like in a Japanese bath…well….it’s a good time for us in a long marriage.

I get up at 4am just to clean floors from the mud and dust (oh, god, the plaster dust!!) from the workmen (and Husband) .  I walk around a curve or hall and there are freakin’ wires hanging out of the walls like a nest of vipers and it’s not a good idea to walk in the dark. Later, the animal chores, and then by 9am…..I realize that the ‘usual’ of the day is disrupted, because there is nothing ‘computer’,….internet…to do.  So I read.

Karen Blixen’s “Out of Africa” letters to her mother and brother, Amy Tan’s “The Bonesetter’s Daughter”, a 1892 edition of “Japanese Houses and Workworking”, and the rest of “Portrait of Jennie”.  I could go through my bookcases if this keeps up….or the lights keep off.

It was touch and go when Fred was in the hospital and I didn’t care what state he came home in…I just wanted him under our roof, again.  Home isn’t much without the hairy man.

So, I’ll be off line for a few more days, thinking up more  ways to twist poetry, or better yet…play in the snow, again.

Yep, it’s snowing again…something that is rare for the south, and welcome around the woodstove.

Lady Nyo

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “BOOM!! POP!! Lights out…..”

  1. Berowne Says:

    Whew! Glad to hear you guys are OK. We recently replaced the electrical panel (the gizmo with all the circuit breakers that connects to the power company line) after learning the company that made it used fake components and went out of business when they got caught at it. More by e-mail later.

    Like

  2. Malcolm Says:

    You have my sympathy. Nasty how disaster happens just when we need everything to work as usual. It’s not much consolation to think of poor devils in Chile, where many have no power, and also many have no home left at all. Your words about wiring hanging like ‘a nest of vipers’ sends a shiver down my spine at the thought of the expense. Sorry about the lost holiday…

    Like

  3. shia1 Says:

    Oh wow Jane!

    Sorry to hear about the house. I hope everything isn’t fried. Is there a chance or will you have to buy new things? What a shame and expense. I know what you mean about the bird bath washing. When I came home from the hospital it was all I could do. I dreamt of taking a bath or a shower.

    Please hang in there. It has to get better. Let us know how you and your family and the house are doing!

    Wishing you the best

    shia

    Like

  4. Margie Says:

    I realize you probably won’t read this for awhile, but I wanted to say how glad I was that Fred is home now. I hope also that everything is now in balance and he is on his way to a full recovery. What a scary few weeks for you. Though I don’t really envy your electrical issues, it seems like a nice idea to be away from modern distractions for a little while. Enjoy your reading! BTW, I LOVED the Bonesetter’s Daughter, as I have loved all of Amy Tan’s work, (well except for Saving Fish from Drowning – I’ve been trying to get through that one for a couple of years now – I’m, in fact, using it for a doorstop at the moment, LOL!)

    Like

  5. katiewritesagain Says:

    Janie!
    hang in there, Girl! YAY! Fred’s home. I’ve been wondering where you were. Glad you’re getting everythig fixed. Yes, Old houses are beautiful-and expensive to maintain.

    Keep reading and writing. It’s snowing here again, too. My patient up on the mountain is getting even more than me-and I’m staying home. I’m now driving a truck because the last ice storm claimed my car. I’ve always been a careful driver but I didn’t make it last time I went out when my gut said “STAY HOME!”
    I’m looking forward to hearing from you, Sweetie. I wrote a little poem about the snow on my blog but it’s not very inspired. Maybe I’m snowed out…ya think?
    Love you
    Katie

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Yo, Katie!

    Sorry about the car!! We had only a dusting, but DAMN!! I’m ready for winter to blow out o’ here! And I LOVE winter….4 snow storms (kinda) since January…..enough!!

    Fred’s home,….and I just got the computer (internet) back 5 minutes ago….500 messages…damn…..I can delete most because they are ERWA and I’m not really involved there anymore…..I couldn’t keep up.

    The only thing good about not having internet….is that you are forced to write paper and pen….I didn’t have any electricity to power up the computer, squat.

    But!~ I did struggle through 2 new chapters of the Kimono. I am sticking to that novel until it finishes….or finishes me.

    What happened to your car??? did you have an accident?? In that snow, very possible.
    Glad you are alive and breathing, darling!

    Love and Hugs!….and the snow would dampen a lot of creativity. I haven’t taken off my sheep boots since Xmas…I even sneak them under the covers….tooo cold by far!
    I can only imagine what you are experiencing in NC…..

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!!! Doorstop! LOL! Yeah, know what you mean. One year a plum pudding (12 lbs of black cannon ball) was a door stop for a while.

    Amy Tan…that book was good, but Saving Fish from Drowning…I haven’t come across.

    Fred is home but the dear man…..three days after hospital, had to shoulder the repairs with the real electricians…..he looked pretty gray for a while, but looks a bit better with sleep and lights now.

    Still can’t pee on his own (and no, I’m not holding it….) but has to catheterize himself three times a day. He is scheduled for some weird proceedure next week. I know he probably doesn’t want me telling all these nasty details so I will shut up.

    Kinda.

    LOL~ Love and Hugs! And thanks, coz.

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, shia!

    Wow, I forgot about that when you had surgery last summer. Yeah, a bath…of which I had one yesterday…a full one…hot water!!! for the first time in 6 days.

    Stinky woman.

    Thanks, sweetie. Fred continues to mend…slowly.

    We lost tvs, all (2) computers, clocks, radios, lights (those expensive canned lights), Our Big TV…(sob), but overall …..except for the 9000 clams it cost….

    they say we were fortunate.

    Huh.

    Like

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Malcolm.

    You know…and I know you also suffered from prostate cancer (the jury is out on this with Fred so far)…..all I cared about after the hospital fiasco was getting him home….and then the lights went out.

    Damn. And he had to get out of bed and work in various crawl spaces.

    I almost got caught on that nest of vipers in the middle of the night…in the blackness….and I won’t forget that experience again. LOL!

    Chile had it better than Haiti apparently, though the 8.8 can’t be topped. The infrastructure, etc….was better, and the society more stable….but the looting??

    Jesus Christ. At the worse time for that to happen.

    Thanks again…

    Blessings all around.

    Hugs and Love.

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Wow! Berowne!

    That is really horrible! corruption in the very parts that need to be pure and clean.

    Jesus. That is very low of a company.

    Yes, it’s been a hell of a time, and I am very testy right now. So sorry for all the nastiness on this end. My impatience, my short temper.

    Living with total strangers coming into your bedroom when you are trying to sleep and them on ladders working on the ceiling..putting in piercingly screaming smoke detectors that make you rise up fast!! LOL~!

    Quite a sight for them….

    Love and Hugs.

    Like

  11. Berowne Says:

    Welcome back!!!

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Thank you, dear friend.

    I want steak tonight. I feel we all have been through the ringer.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

