Almost Spring, almost Spring….but still Winter.

Plum Trees in Front Garden with the Red Maple as background

(Sorry for the formatting….computer stuff again)

Lady Nyo

STILL WINTER

The first of March
delivers from a
gunmetal morning sky,
our first snowstorm,
huge slivers of magic
I am told no two
alike.
Such a miracle!

They fence with the
Plum blossoms,
overwhelm
by their multitude
and wrap everything
in an earthward path.

Fragile plum blossoms

will have the last laugh,
as they turn into heavy
purple orbs,
watered and nourished
by this onslaught of crystallized
cosmos,
blanketed in a landscape
of  bridal satin.

They hunker down, burrow in,

and sleep,

dreaming of days
fed by a sultry sun.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2009

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Almost Spring, almost Spring….but still Winter.”

  1. Margie Says:

    Nice picture, beautiful poem. I definitely feel the anticipation of Spring – it’s warm here in the sun, but still a chilly breeze in the shade. Tomorrow I have some gardening planned – cheery little pansies in containers, along with snapdragons, petunias, and dianthus – and the fervent hope that spring is actually, really here!

    Last week I watched two dozen robins in my stepdaughters back yard, pulling worms from the softening ground. I got far too excited!

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hello, Margie!!

    I know how you feel…here it’s in the 60’s, the sun is shining, it’s got that particular ‘feel’ of Spring…the tender light that is so ‘unused’…new….!

    Oh I love your choice of plants!! snapdragons, petunias and dianthus. My pansies did nothing over the winter….just were too cold and chilled to amount to much…but here they come, now!

    Oh! I love your robins! They are definitely the first harbingers of Spring!

    Thank you for reading and for your comment. I’ve written so many Winter poems, that it’s time for Spring ones…

    And Happy Spring tomorrow!!!

    Love,
    Jane

    Like

  3. Uncle Tree Says:

    That’s sweet and appropriate!

    We had an inch of snow just last night,
    and we had only two days ago seen the last
    of winter’s snow melt. I am so ready for a warm-up.

    We have no blossoms here, but the cardinals are back. Yeah!
    Hello there! Just visiting. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hello, Uncle Tree!!

    It’s good to hear from you!

    That the cardinals are back are a good indication of Spring, but I love them in the snow. Here in the South, snow is rare, but actually in the last few years…not so rare. I love it, but I am SOOOOO ready for Spring!

    This Winter dragged on so long…and was so cold. We almost lost our neighbor who got locked out in 14 degrees weather. He had a stroke a few years ago, and just couldn’t manage to walk around the house to the front. A neighbor saw him and carried him into his house and warmed him up, thereby averting a terrible tragedy.

    You must be in a more northern clime than here….(this poem was last March, 09…) That was quite a beautiful snowstorm…..6 inches, snowed all day, and it transformed this street into a Japanese village!

    My Best!!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. Uncle Tree Says:

    Dear Lady Nyo,

    I’m planted in Lincoln, Nebraska.
    I was born in Sedalia, Missouri.
    Retiring in the South sounds good.
    Winters are waaaay too long up here.

    Just an fyi. 🙂 UT

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Dear Uncle Tree,

    But the Summers are way too long down here!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  7. Margie Says:

    Dear Uncle Tree,

    As a recent transplant (so to speak) to North Carolina, I am speaking up on behalf of NC weather. After living in New Jersey for many, many years I love the weather here. Spring and Autumn last longer, Summer is kind of hot, but not as humid as NJ, and Winter is as bad as it is elsewhere, but much shorter! And by the way, my mother’s side of my family are all from Missouri, Jefferson City and Kansas City. I adore Missouri! If circumstances hadn’t brought us here, I would have loved to move to Jefferson City!

    Nice to “meet” you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

