“Musings on a Closing Day”, from “A Seasoning of Lust”

Mt. Fuji in Spring

I move my chair

to observe Mt. Fuji-

monstrous  perfection

topped with the cooling crust

of spring snows.

Languid movements

of a branch,

like a geisha

unfurling her arm

from a gray kimono,

makes petals fall,

a scented, pink snow

covering my upturned face

with careless kisses.

Timid winds caress

my limbs,

bringing relief

to old and tired bones

brittle now with life’s argument

and sullen defeat.

Raked sands of garden

waves are hardly disturbed

by feet like two gray stones

and grains  flow

round ankles and

I realize once again

I am no obstacle to

the ‘sands of time’.

My heart is quieted

by the passage of nothing

for in this nothing

is revealed the fullness of life.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2009

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to ““Musings on a Closing Day”, from “A Seasoning of Lust””

  1. Margie Says:

    I was recently contemplating how my life is going so far. I concluded that despite the aches, pains and groanings that I imagine is normal for this age, I am very content with my life. This poem expresses that feeling perfectly.

    How are things going for you? I hope you’re having a lovely spring season, filled with blossoms and growing things!

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Coz!

    Thank you for reading and leaving a comment. Much appreciated.

    That was an earlier poem, and was one of the first with a “Japanese” flavor.

    I think it good that we periodically sum up what and where our lives are going. That gives some perspective for the present and future perhaps.

    To be content is a blessing.

    This spring is amazing. All that rain last year has given the best of results this year. Garden is doing well, though the sewer disruption meant that 15 years of composted soil carefully laid each year was churned up and the red clay of Georgia exposed. But with chickens, I have made a manure tea in a trudge and water almost daily. The tomatoes are almost 4 feet tall, and the strawberries are really blooming. Cukes are doing ‘ok’….but they were slow starters. The berry bushes are doing great, and that is a change this year. We expect a bumper crop of blueberries from about 6 bushes. We lost some last year in the garden disruption…but so it goes.

    And how does your garden grow, Mary???

    Love…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

