“In the Hollow of Winter’s Twilight”

 

Untitled?, jkohut-bartels, 2006?, watercolor

 

A new and unsettled poem.  The imagery can be extended.

Lady Nyo

In the hollow of winter’s twilight

When the air is thin and pale,

Night creeps forth in shadows–

Overwhelms  the weary day.

I hear the scrape of sleet

Tattoo the frozen panes,

Feed up the fire

With spitting  pine–

And settle in the warmth.

The hound on hearth,

His body limp–snores,

No owl or deer entices.

He dreams of past  hunts,

Twitches still–

But now gives up the chase.

In winter’s stillness

Wounds will heal,

This solitude is welcome

The silence does immeasurable good–

This — the sanctuary of season.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2010

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to ““In the Hollow of Winter’s Twilight””

  1. Jingle Says:

    the art on top is timeless…
    this post tickles me,
    what talent.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Jingle.

    This poem came forth fast…too fast…and then gave me fits.

    I revised it…on the blog…oh, about 20 times…LOL~

    Added the dog stanza, but still…it’s not right.

    I love and got trapped by the first two lines of the first stanza…but then they escaped me.

    Thank you for reading…and I am glad you liked my art work. I originally was a painter….before that a musician, but I think all these things go into the melting pot….and sometimes poetry comes forth from the fire.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. bluebee Says:

    A cosy solitude beautifully painted

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Bluebee, for reading and leaving a comment. I think solitude is a good word for this short poem.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

