A Hopeful Season

"Clach Mhullinn", our home

This is a hopeful season, when people hope to fulfill the spirit of giving and holiday cheer.  Across the nation, people  find little to be hopeful about, with foreclosures and massive unemployment.  Though the government says  unemployment is 10%, it  is more around 18% if all things were figured in.

There is a lot of stress right now and the cold weather that blows across the country doesn’t help.

We are being exhorted to shop, to spend  money saved, to buck up the failing economy.  It’s a hard thing to do, all this spending,  unless you do it mindlessly, and so many people do at this time of the year.  Debt piles upon debt and people close their eyes to the future.

We have tried to buck the usual trend.  I hope we can because it just doesn’t seem right to buy for each other when we have plenty already.  We say we want to follow Voluntary Simplicity, but it doesn’t seem that we can do this with any constancy.

This year my husband asked me what I wanted, as he does every year.  I really can’t think of anything and tell him the same thing every year.  It throws him — he has nothing to go by, but then again, after all these years together, he knows me and usually knows what is important.  Sometimes he knows  this more than I do.

I didn’t know what I wanted until I saw it.  Nothing shiny, no bauble, nothing of any real value except to the heart.  For 6 weeks I have been feeding a stray mother cat with 5 kittens.  They live a couple of blocks from us, and the people whose property they live on won’t claim them, and neither will they feed them.

If the mother is feral, she goes against the tide, as she is the sweetest mother cat around.  Her five babies are scared of me and won’t let me touch them, but I try.  The other day I was able to sweep up one in my arms and bring him home.

"Sushi"

Sushi is a little boy, about 9 weeks old.  He looks angry in the picture, and the “Where the Wild Things Are” doll just about expresses his former disposition.  He now drags it around by the horns.

He refused to look at me when I brought him home as the journey was traumatic for both of us.  It took a week before Sushi would even let me touch him without trembling and the solution was the hair brush.  He loves to be brushed.  From that he proceeded to drop his feral attitude and now he is a very demanding-of-affection kitty.

I faxed over a few pix of Sushi and my vet tells me he’s a Himmie: a cross between a Siamese and a Persian.  Whatever he is, he is a Xmas gift, or better yet, a beautiful Winter Solstice blessing.

God knows we don’t need another cat and my husband  looked cross-eyed at me whenever I had Sushi in my lap brushing him.  But he came around fast, (both Sushi and Husband)  and at least he knows what I wanted in my heart of hearts for Christmas.  I just didn’t know what form this gift would show up in.

He keeps asking me if I am planning to bring home the rest of the litter with the mother. That  would really stress everyone out, including the resident cats.  So we will continue to feed them, and after the New Year, try to place the mom and remaining kittens.

Life is what is important, not only this season.  Sushi already is fitting in well with the other cats and this is the way it should be. There is an occasional growl or yell from the cat room, but that can’t be avoided.  They have their own pecking order, and Sushi, spoiled little boy that he is already, will learn.

The Winter season brings such beauty and peace when we attend to the message.   Sushi’s place in our home expands our hearts and gives further comfort to our lives.  We hope we do the same.

Who needs more baubles when you can have a warm purr next to your heart?

Lady Nyo

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “A Hopeful Season”

  1. katiewritesagain Says:

    Jane
    I wish evryone with extra money would help someone, some creature, in need. If you don’t want to adopt, donate to the local animal shelter, or offer to pay for spay/nueter of a pet for a family in need.

    If you really want tp make a ifference in the world, don’t donate to some political party-help a real person or animal in need. Those acts will send out ripples of love that will make a difference in all the lives it touches-including yours

    Thank you, Jane, for opening your heart.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Right back at ya, Katie!

    This is the kitten I was talking about…..weeks ago with you.

    The problem with the ‘owners’ of the momma cat and kittens…they don’t want her spayed.. Think that she won’t be a mouser then…but they are plumb ignorant people. So their answer is to allow her to breed over and over and have the babies killed by ‘natural means’.

    Geez. I am going to steal all of them when I can…and place them. I’m already talking to my vet about boarding them and I’ll pay a monthly fee. At least I know these babies and the sweet mother won’t die in the cold or by starvation.

    I won’t donate to any political party, they are a den of thieves, in any case. Same to the majority of churches, temples, etc. I keep getting an email weekly from some national Humane society, who sends out the most heart wrenching videos and pictures. Problem is: they don’t have a shelter, they don’t serve animals as far as we can see: they want your money to continue their offices and publicity.

    We can do much better. There is real need in this country, and I’m starting with the four footed ones first. I am queered by seeing a homeless man begging with a cell phone in his hand, as I saw yesterday.

    Jane and her new best friend, Sushi.

    Like

  3. dasuntoucha Says:

    Life is what is important, not only this season

    …true indeed…thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    You are very welcome!

    Thank you for reading and leaving a comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. Mysilverstate.com-Where progressive netizens unite Says:

    Economy’s strong week raises optimism for 2011…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    Like

  6. bluebee Says:

    ‘People close their eyes to the future’ – that’s for sure. I find it very liberating not to be buying presents this year. And you have the perfect gift in Sushi and he in you – he’s beautiful, Lady Nyo. Our neighbour’s cat comes over every afternoon, sits at the back door and ‘calls’ my husband for his brush – so sweet. Best wishes to you for the Silly Season 🙂

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!…thankyou Bluebee. Sushi got his first shots today and he’s not saying much. The car ride was spooky I am sure.

    Yes, he’s beautiful, but I feel rather bad. Did I take him because he was ‘eye=candy’? The others are beautiful in their own way, and as deserving. However, he is such a personality and I am so bonded to him….(and I have 12 other cats….) I trick myself into believing this was karma.

    Oh, that is such a funny scene you tell of…your husband and his daily brushing. LOL!

    And best wishes to you for this Silly Season! LOL~

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you SilverState…for reading and making a trackback.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  9. Scent of my heart Says:

    So very sweet of you, to take care of this cat. Generous and touching!

    Hello, Merry Christmas!

    I want to say thank you for the support to Jingle Poetry, with you standing beside us, we are able to continue our efforts by providing the platform for poets who share and encourage…BEST wishes for the year 2011…your poetry has enlightened our community and made us smile.

    Blessings fly your way, Happy Holidays!

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you on Sunday Poetry Potluck again, let me know if you have questions..old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome..

    week 15 theme: reflections, interpretations, and musings.

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Hello! well, you saw the kitty….who wouldn’t want him? He’s winding around my ankles as I type, and my hands and knees and ankles are full of little puncture holes….He just wants attention, and mommy is ignoring him….

    Merry Xmas, Happy Winter Solstice and Happy Holidays!

    I feel guilty about Sunday Poetry Potluck because I haven’t contributed yet. I have been so involved with other projects and the pile keeps growing because it generates itself…deeper and higher. You would understand.

    Hopefully after the first of the year I can see where I am…..and perhaps contribute something to Jinglepoetry. It looks like a fun and pleasant site, and don’t we need that in our lives?

    I am always stumped with writing to theme, because I usually can’t…so I never know what to submit.

    But in any case, I wish for the best for Jinglepoetry.blogspot.com and know the poets there are flying around like the angels they are.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  11. Margie Says:

    How sweet is that kitty? And what a perfect gift to yourself. I agree re: holiday gifts. Except for something for our granddaughters and great niece we did not “do” gifts this year, nor have we for several years. Takes the pressure right off! We will have a special meal and watch some old movies and eat Christmas cookies and tea and share a comfortable happiness. Life is truly good.

    I hope you and Fred have a cozy day – and with all those cats and dogs I’m sure you will!

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Margie!

    I think what you are doing is sane….the buy-buy-buy is insane….

    Sushi is a love, and so affectionate. Went back today to feed the rest, and the little calico seems wobbly but that might be because it is cold. I can pick her up….so I might bring her home tomorrow. If she’s sick, I can try to cure her…better than she dying in the cold. poor kitty.

    Ah, there is so much of life around us, Margie. Today I looked outside the back door, and a huge Redtail Hawk was flapping away with something round in it’s talons….I think it was a full grown squirrel. There is a big nest in the oak tree on the side of the property. Squirrel nest.

    Your special meal, tea and cookies and old movies sounds wonderful. We expect Christopher home right before Xmas. We haven’t seen our only child in over a year. He gets shipped out to the Persian Gulf after the New Year.

    I was going to wait for him to come home to bring in the trimmings for the mantels: magnolia leaves, nandina berries, holly. But I think I want to do some of that myself. I’ve cut pine branches, and put out red candles all over, but it’s not festive enough yet!

    Since we missed Xmas last year with our son, we will get a tree this year. Christmas is for the children, and watching their expectant eyes is a trip! You and Roger have fun with the granddaughters.

    Merry Christmas, etc…Margie….you and Roger are blessed.

    Life is truly good.

    Love, Jane

    Like

  13. Liras Says:

    Sweet Lady N, what an adorable and yummy kitty. I can imagine it is hard to put him down.

    My motto has always been that charity and giving is local. I help those around me first, although there are a few organizations that I support loosely.

    As we talked about before, it is a conscious effort to not listen to the drumbeat of consuming and instead, listen to one’s own heart.

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Ahhhhh….Liras! LOL!…No one…not even a Dom…can ignore a kitty~

    LOL!….And YES, I agree. Charity starts locally.

    Today I did something that I thought right in the spirit of Xmas….I went to a thrift store, and found a beautiful silver flute. My husband used to play a clarinet, but I couldn’t find one of those…and this flute is beautiful…old…silver, and not expensive. I collect musical instruments and animals….

    LOL!

    Merry Xmas, Liras, or what ever you indulge in. Tonight, on the eve of Winter Solstice!! There is going to be a full lunar eclipse. Starting around 1am…and if you don’t want to wait all that time….around 3am…the moon will be red!

    Cheers, Liras!

    Lady Nyo…..and yes, Sushi’s paws will not be used much. I carry him all over….LOL! that seems to be the bonding element between us…that and the hairbrush.

    Like

  15. moondustwriter Says:

    aww he looks like a rascal – we have a puppy about the same age.

    enjoy the celebration of life my friend

    best wishes to you

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Ouch! sharp claws and teeth…about 10 weeks old….and he turns up his nose at kitty litter. I am the nursemaid that runs behind him with the mop.

    Puppies are so cute!! Enjoy as they grow up so fast. (Kids do too….)

    My best to you back, sweetie!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

