“December Moon”, a Winter poem.

 

December Moon

The wind howled  last night,

A chorus of disgruntled banshees

Out to fracture nerves and peace,

Disrupt any restful sleep,

Making dogs whine in fear

At a sickly moon.

The wind chimes on the eaves

Jangled and clanging,

Hollow metal ham bones

Dance at the command

Of transforming elements–

Loud discord  added to fearsome harmony.

An alarming season,

Nothing soft-edged about it.

The tattered- leaved branches

Silhouetted against a plastered wall,

Illuminated by harsh street lights–

Whip  about in a feeding frenzy

And I dare not close my eyes,

But creep down to quiet the hounds

Who share my anxious sentiments

About  a rude and boisterous night.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2011

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to ““December Moon”, a Winter poem.”

  1. Katie Says:

    Jane
    Metal Hambones-love it.
    You know, I think a “Winter Season” poetry chapbook is in order here. Maybe if it is a theme kind of thing, people won’t say snarky things about writing more than one poem about Winter.
    Frankly, I think it is a Season that has gotten a lot of bad press and not enough creative attention.
    Hope you had a lovely New Year’s-in spite of the loud, crackly nights.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Katie!

    A chapbook? LOL!…does that come with a horse?

    I agree….The Winter season gets a bad rap ….mostly us groaning and moaning about the uncharitable weather. I do this a lot myself….

    It’s just that….well, Winter gives me such a creative motion. Or something. Perhaps it’s the radical rupture from the heat of the South? I don’t know, but I welcome winter for a lot of things. I keep romanticizing winter storms, where the power goes out…but then, the reality is not so nice. It can get cold…but the woodstove stops most of that. No blower, which makes a different, and you have to cook on top of the woodstove for a few hours-days…and that’s not that bad. The smell of soups and stews wafts through the house, though you tend to stay in a few rooms for heat.

    I’m hoping that soon we will be presenting “White Cranes of Heaven”….50 seasonal poems….that turn through out the seasons. But winter is a season for patience, as bones and sinew don’t move so fast. Probably thought, neither.

    Yes, we fell asleep before midnight…and snuggled down deeper into the quilt when the gunfire that greets the New Year started. This year is wasn’t as drawn out as last, and that is a good thing.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  3. marousia Says:

    I like this – I empathise with your hounds 🙂

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Marousia!

    Thanks, sweetie. I empathize with my hounds, too…. Otherwise, I would never get back to sleep.

    They generally split my night into fragments with their own activities.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. Margie Says:

    Lovely poem, as I’ve come to expect from you! I agree about winter releasing some sort of creative juice – I feel it also. I think the summers, especially here in southern climes, either make me want to be outside doing something productive (like weeding, ugh) or, when the heat is intolerable, inside in air conditioning cooking or cleaning or something. I guess it’s a different type of creativity after all. In the winter I want to knit, paint, write, cozy up with a good book in front of the fire, and make soup.

    By the way, metal hambones indeed! Love it!

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Margie!

    You said it right! Exactly the issues with the Southern summers…and Winters.

    Winter is such a lovely season, stripped and down to its knickers! The sparseness of the months, the thinning of the air, the sharpness of it, too. Perhaps with all the bareness, we complete the picture with our own thoughts, projections? Perhaps this fresh palette of Winter, the browning of the grass, just all this possibility? This would make us go inward. I think we all love to cook during winter, too. Soups, stews, roasts, etc.

    I remember a ‘hotpot’ from my childhood….and then later came across it when I was writing “Devil’s Revenge”.

    DUTCH HOTPOT

    Brown a potroast, shoulder, etc. on top of the stove. Add onions, carrots, peas, and transfer to a Brown Betty.

    Make mashed potatoes…>(the boxed kind do well for this…) and cover the roast, vegetables. Pour in a bit of sherry and beef broth.

    Cook on 350 for about 1.5 hours or however your oven runs.

    Serve very carefully, as the mashed potatoes seal in the steam and it is HOT.

    Hugs,

    Jane

    Like

  7. Margie Says:

    Sounds delicious! I’ll definitely give this a try.

    Love ya,

    Margie

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    It’s a great cold weather dish….especially beloved by men~

    Love ya back,
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

