“Song of Summer”, from “White Cranes of Heaven”, posted for Oneshotpoetry.com

Summer in Scotland, watercolor, 2003, Jane Kohut-Bartels

Thank you so much for the many emails we received yesterday and today about Sparky.  We are devestated with his death and so appreciative of those people, friends and strangers, who have written with their condolences.  Sparky was truly a special dog, but they all are given the chance. That you have extended your hearts to him and us makes such a difference here today.  We miss him terribly. 

Lady Nyo

 

SONG OF SUMMER

 

Summer cartwheels through the sky!

The fertility of months

Expressed from field to orchard,

Above in the sky, and deep below,

Where the earth gathers energy

And transforms by magic

Fruits for the mouth and eye.

 

Fledglings tipped out of nests

Try new-feathered wings on warm currents,

Calves butt heads and race in calf-tumble

Climbing rocks and playing king-of-the-hill,

Spring lambs past the date

For the tender-est  of slaughter

Coated in white curls,

The smell of lanolin strong in their wake.

 

There is fresh life in the pastures,

Now with steady legs and bawling lungs,

They graze upon the bounty

And grow fat for the future culling.

 

Tender shoots of wheat and corn,

Waist-high, defying devious crows,

Paint once-fallow fields in saffron and

A multitude of hues-

Golden tassels forming,

Waving under an oppressive sun,

And when the sky bursts open

In random welcomed rain,

Heaven meets Earth-

The cycle complete.

 

This is the song of Summer:

The bleat of lambs,

The cymbals of colliding clouds,

The blaze of fierce light,

The plaints of cows with full udders,

The loud quarrelling of a swollen brook,

The scream of a hunting hawk

Calling for its mate,

The pelt of an unheralded storm

Upon a tin roof,

And the quiet sighing of

An unexpected wind-

A benediction to the day.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2010 

From “White Cranes of Heaven, 50 Seasonal poems”  published by Lulu.com, 2011

The Author, from the backcover of "White Cranes of Heaven"

Tags: , , , ,

28 Responses to ““Song of Summer”, from “White Cranes of Heaven”, posted for Oneshotpoetry.com”

  1. Laura Hegfield Says:

    So beautiful Jane…I love this “Above in the sky, and deep below,

    Where the earth gathers energy

    And transforms by magic

    Fruits for the mouth and eye.”

    I am sorry about your loss. I feel love for my dog that is so strong, she could be another daughter…they are precious beings our dogs…and cats too. It is hard to say goodbye.

    Like

  2. brian Says:

    love how you capture both ends of the cycle in this…the lambs past the tender-est slaughter caught me…and the rain on a tin roof…beautifulllsing it the low sombre notes and the cheery sun…

    sorry to hear about you dog, your friend…sad.

    Like

  3. poemblaze Says:

    A great poem for the first day of spring! Well crafted and wonderful imagery throughout. Great playfulness in the language here.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Poemblaze….

    but it’s the first day of Summer…!!!

    Thank you, sweetie, for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. ayala Says:

    A great poem. I am sorry for your loss.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Laura! First, thank you for reading and your lovely comment on “Song of Summer”. I hate summer…lol…it’s 101 today here. Ugh.

    I understand your love for your ‘daughter’….hug her close and kiss her a lot. They have short brutal lives except where we can make them better. Frankly, I prefer my animals, dogs and cats and chickens to most people I know….

    Hard to say goodbye, but I wasn’t expecting this….we never do.

    Hugs,

    Jane

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Ayala!

    First, thank you for reading “Song of Summer”…

    and it’s been a very hard two days..a.ctually since the weekend when we realized Sparky was so sick. I miss him so. I can’t stop crying…I go into jags….

    I am looking for another Field Spaniel. I don’t care whether a pup or a rescue of an older dog….just a Fieldie to wrap my arms around. Once bitten by a Fieldie, you are cursed with love!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  8. libithina Says:

    Miidsummer blessings Jane ~ I too wanted to mark the day ~ Loved your write and the refreshing imagery .. the circle of cycles .. turns the wheel ..
    .. ‘gathers energy’ ..
    again warm hugs Jane ~ a great write .. may the warm sweet blessings of Summer tumble in abundance ~ Lib ~ @Libithina

    Like

  9. Gay Cannon Says:

    This poem is so exquisite. It captures the glories of a summer elsewhere. Somewhere temperate, and lovely – like Scotland which invites one to climb stone walls and frolic with lambs. So cool, so sensuous; how delicately you build the images with each proper word.

    Thank you and much gratitude for the words on my poem this week. Left you a note on your previous poem as well. Sending much affection. Gay

    Like

  10. Elizabeth Young Says:

    This breathtaking poem reminded me of Summer in England. I stood in a field around seven in the evening and could smell the newly grown wheat. Everything was bathed in the most beautiful golden light, and all was well. Thank you so much for capturing Summer in this evocative piece, and I also offer my deep sympathy in the loss of your precious pet.

    Like

  11. leslie Says:

    it is a beautiful song. i think my favorite line is the last:

    “And the quiet sighing of

    An unexpected wind-

    A benediction to the day.”

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Leslie,

    I learn more from other poets, their comments. I think these poems come so fast that I don’t take the time to look deeper into them, except to sometimes correct the words! LOL~

    I think we all understand this ‘daydream’ state we put ourselves in, and the poems come out. Sort of like making sausages. LOL! Well, hopefully deeper than that!

    I think for me the trick of these seasonal/nature poems is to remember the sights and sounds of a particular season. It’s much like painting, actually. It’s a layering on color but using words. I think.

    Thank you for reading, and liking! this poem.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you so much, Elizabeth.

    Thank you for relating your own lovely and vivid memory of Summer in England. You had me there next to you. And that is the trick of poetry, neh? Using all the senses in the poem I think.

    Thank you so much for your condolences on our dog, Sparky.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Gay!

    For you to send such kind words about this poem means so much to me. Everytime I visit your wonderful blog, I get refreshed: I can face life! You are an amazing writer and one that I look forward reading because there is such beauty and wisdom in your poems. I felt that you were venturing outward with this last one, and Brava! to you. I think courage is wonderful in poets, and I ain’t there yet! LOL!

    Thank you for reading “Song of Summer”. I come from the North, in the countryside of New Jersey…..farm land, that when I was raised there, was stuck pretty much in Revolutionary times…..cows, corn fields, truck farms and very old houses. Volunteer Fire Department, where all men at the age of 21 had to serve this large rural area. We used to sit on a hillside and watch the lightning strike a far off hill, and burn up some cow barn. You would hear the siren start, and you knew where the menfolk were supposed to go. Scotland was similiar when I was there. That painting was done in Scotland….but it’s wilder than I was used to. New Jersey is more bucolic.

    The rolling hills and beautiful landscape of rural New Jersey evoked this poem, I believe.

    Hugs back.

    Jane

    Like

  15. ladynyo Says:

    Oh! That is soooo kind of you Libithina!

    Warm Summer indeed! 101 today. Yikes! I bet it’s cooler in the UK! I hope.

    Midsummer blessings to you, Lib. So far, the tomato plants (34 Italian Oxheart) are 7 feet high and filling with green tomatoes! I should have some abundance with these!

    Thank you for reading and your sweet comment, Lib.

    Fond Hugs,

    Jane

    Like

  16. dustus Says:

    Have to say, I was completely bummed out hearing about Sparky (sorry to hear that) and then your poem turns a cartwheel in the first line! It was an amazing “benediction.” Overall, and I think I may have said this before of your work, you write about nature so well—with an evident poetic sensitivity. Beautiful poem.

    Like

  17. Pat Hatt Says:

    Really captured the essence of the season and you write it so that it’s just so inviting, nice one.

    Oh and couldn’t agree more with your reply, to my comment, on dogs and humans in the post below.

    Like

  18. hedgewitch Says:

    Your poem captures the spirit of summer, and rebirth, and ends serenely, like a perfect summer day. Something about the solstice, eh? We had a blissfull break from the heat today–it was 105 two days ago–so I spent some needed time outside. It is renewing, as are the images in your piece.

    Like

  19. ladynyo Says:

    Whoa, Joy….105~ That is Hell weather…lol!

    Thank you for reading and your comment. Hope the break in the weather continues.

    Jane

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Pat.

    And thank you for your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Dustus…I was bummed out, too. And thank for thinking of Sparky. I deeply appreciate it. He was and is a wonderful dog.

    I had to try to ‘pull up’…my mood was not letting go…so picked this because of certain elements of the poem

    Thank you, Dustus, for reading and your lovely comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  22. Raivenne Says:

    So sorry for the loss of Sparky, Lady Nyo. He was beautiful.

    “The pelt of an unheralded storm

    Upon a tin roof,”

    I spent summers as a youth down south and a adored the sound of rain on a tin roof. In a write chock full of wonderful visuals and imagery, all of which I remember fondly, these are the lines that just take me back…

    http://wp.me/pPury-hc

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Raivenne!

    Thank you so much, first for your words on my dear Sparky…yes, he was so beautiful. I just went to the Humane society here in Atlanta, to fill my arms with a pup, but I just couldn’t. The memories of Sparky are too close and strong in my heart. I will, eventually, find a dog to love, but right not I can’t concentrate on the picking.

    Thank you so much for reading and your lovely comment. That pelt of the rain on a tin roof I remember from my childhood in New Jersey!

    Hugs to you, Raivenne.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  24. Belinda Says:

    This is gorgeous, Jane. Your descriptions are so perfect adn I love how heaven meeting earth completes the cycle.

    Like

  25. Kavita Says:

    There are harsh winters.. and then there are lovely summers… oh yes there are wonderfully refreshing summers indeed!
    Y

    Like

  26. Kavita Says:

    Ugghh.. somehow, the ‘post comment’ button got clicked while I was typing my comment furiously.. and before I could complete writing, the half-comment got posted! (sorry about that)

    Anyway, what I was saying was this:
    Your words actually made me walk up to my window and soak in the fresh summeriness in the sky.. and it felt great!!
    Thanks for this lovely poem, my friend…

    And for Sparky, stay strong, will ya? He would like it that way..
    (love)

    Like

  27. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you,Kavita….and thank you for the kind words about Sparky. I miss him so.

    Jane

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Belinda. I see so much more in these poems when people comment on them.

    Thank you for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

