‘A Dish Of Skylarks’, posted for dversepoets.com…..

A Pretty RedTail Hawk, NOT a Skylark....janekohutbartels, wc, 2006

Oneshotpoetry.com is no more.  Sad, indeed, but some of the same people there have formed dversepoets.com in replacement and to keep the poetry going.

I have looked at the schedule and it seems a bit more….exacting??….with Mondays for different forms and a more critical approach to poetry.  This isn’t bad at all.  How do poets grow except in an atmosphere of dissection and discussion?

So, it is wonderful that Brian Miller et al have formed this poetry group.  It’s open for poets to contribute and I am going to do so. 

This short poem ‘A Dish Of Skylarks’ is a silly piece, but it came to me in a dream…I woke up….and it was in my mouth.  That’s not necessarily a good thing, but it made me laugh.  Apparently there is something going on in my sleep.

Lady Nyo

A DISH OF SKYLARKS

A dish of skylarks

Fell into my lap,

And I, ravenous with

A multitude of hungers-

Ate them.

Between burps

one did escape,

shook himself,

Bowed,

And offered a feather.

I thought it gracious

Considering what I had done

To his neighbors.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2011

Tags: , , , ,

48 Responses to “‘A Dish Of Skylarks’, posted for dversepoets.com…..”

  1. Steve E Says:

    Hey, I like! Is this like “turning the other cheek/wing”? Some bit of dreaming goin’ on there…are you on a vegetarian diet?–grin!

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    ROTF! Yeap, started a vegetarian diet a week ago….might have something there, Steve….LOL!

    I am so gloomy in my poetry sometimes…and this tickled me. Obviously I had to go to sleep to access this alternate personality….LOL!

    Thanks, Steve, for reading and for your funny comment. We need more laughter in life, inside and outside poetry!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Young Says:

    I visited you first Lady Nyo! I am so excited about this new group and enjoyed your humorous verse very much. If you’d like to hear some jazz please pop on by the Garden Gate and I’ll bring some chairs and drinks into the garden.

    Like

  4. Pat Hatt Says:

    The cat would kill me if I made him go vegan..haha..can tell you were inspired by that with this one and after killing his neighbors you deserve it..hahaha

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    Pat, you are so funny!

    Thanks for reading and commenting on this slight verse. Hopefully I’ll bulk up next week.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Elizabeth…

    I am too….wonderful that Brian and Claudia and everyone else is keeping it going. I would be crushed if there wasn’t a poetry group every Tuesday to look forward to.

    Thanks for reading and I’ll bop on by the Garden Gate tonight….

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  7. Joanne Elliott aka soulsprite Says:

    🙂 Thanks for sharing your morning mind with us. My husband wakes up with all sorts of strange words and poems in his mouth.

    Like

  8. brian Says:

    haha…this is a fun piece…when you burped it took me off guard and it just got better from there…glad you joined us for the fun…smiles.

    Like

  9. Anna Montgomery Says:

    Great laugh, thanks.

    Like

  10. liv2write2day Says:

    Never expected this to go there! Fun poem. Victoria

    Like

  11. ayala Says:

    This is fun…and you never know what lurks in our dreams 🙂

    Like

  12. Claudia Says:

    i think this indeed is gracious…and this goes so much deeper than just to skylarks.. poignant as always lady nyo..i’m bowing humbly and offer a feather to your poetry..smiles

    Like

  13. Luke Prater Says:

    wonderfully quirky little piece, my Ladyship. ‘multitude of hungers’… hehe. Oh, the Form/Crit @ d’Verse will be on Thurs/Fri (Thus 3pm Eastern and running over all Friday).

    Like

  14. Gay Says:

    This is funny and clever, and yet as always from you – so very poetic. So happy to get by and read at your place today. Thank you so much for linking. I think the poetry will be good at the pub. Was good of them to invite me. I’ll be back soon and thanks for stopping by mine. Gay

    Like

  15. Heaven Says:

    Very nice share ~ *smiles*

    Lovely to see you here at D’verse…

    Like

  16. hedgewitch Says:

    This is charming, Lady Nyo. Many of my poems come from dreams, but sad to say few are this light-hearted. I love the image of the last bird bowing so graciously. Glad you could join us tonight at dVerse.

    Like

  17. Margie Says:

    LOVE IT! Very playful and quite sweet (especially considering that you ATE his neighbors! LOL!). I think that vegan diet is playing tricks with you, but good tricks!

    Like

  18. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!! Margie! Something is messing with me….LOL!….considering I had two hamburgers today, perhaps I can expect more indigestion…ah poems???

    LOL!…thank you, Margie…I bet most readers won’t know what to make of this poem…I sure didn’t!

    Thank you, Margie, for reading and Laughing!!!

    Love,
    Jane

    Like

  19. ladynyo Says:

    Dear Hedgewitch!

    I am soooo happy that d’verse is here….what would we poor poets do???

    Thank you for reading and your comment….This was a strange one…and thank you, Hedgewitch, for your part in keeping the poetry goin’.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Heaven!!

    I’m so glad that people continued on the work of poets/place.

    Thank you for reading!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Hiya Gay!

    I am so happy we have a place to poetize…Is that a word…?? LOL! I think we will all have a lot of fun at d’verse.

    Gay, you know I adore your poetry….I find your work a special ‘lift’ to my week. Bless you!

    Jane

    Like

  22. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Luke!

    Thank you for reading “Dish of Skylarks”….it’s quirky, don’t know what else to say about it. Damn dreams….. Must have been something I ate. LOL!

    Ahhhh…Luke? I am pathetic on form/crit on poetry, but I’ll give it a shot.

    Thanks, Luke.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Back up, Claudia….I might eat you! LOL!

    Yeah, I thought there was something ‘more’ to this poem that was obvious, but I haven’t a clue. Perhaps it’s in the ‘multitude of hungers’ line….dunno.

    Thank you, Claudia. I am so glum in the forming of poetry usually, that this was just fun.

    Thank you for reading and your insightful comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  24. ladynyo Says:

    Hiya Ayala!

    Yep, you are right….never know…LOL!

    I DO know that my husband is looking at me differently after reading that poem….I think he’s afraid to close his eyes….LOL!

    Thank you, Ayala, for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  25. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Victoria!

    Me neither. Perhaps that’s a clue…to let go of the poem and see what it makes of itself?

    Thank you so much for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  26. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Anna.

    great fun today!

    Thank you for reading and your laughter!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  27. ladynyo Says:

    Brian…..thank you for all your work in both Oneshot and now d’verse!

    What would we do without a place to poemizize?

    LOL!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Joanne!

    My husband does too…strange words…but I make him gargle first thing.

    Thank you for reading and your comment!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  29. marousia Says:

    Quirky, lyrical – gorgeous

    Like

  30. Mama Zen Says:

    What a delightful poem!

    Like

  31. signed .............bkm Says:

    Love how he offered a feather….a quill for a writer is what I picture here…very nice…my Lady…bkm

    Like

  32. Sheila Moore Says:

    cute – reminds me of the nursery rhyme, Sing a Song of Sixpence

    Like

  33. Dulce Says:

    Funny one… and o well done!

    Like

  34. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Dulce!
    Thank you…..we need funny in poetry.

    Thanks for reading…

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  35. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Sheila,

    Thanks for reading and leaving a comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  36. ladynyo Says:

    Hey BKM…

    I quill? I was thinking…dessert! LOL!…but I like your idea better!

    Thanks, sweetie for reading and your comment! Good one!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  37. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Mama Zen…

    Glad you liked this silly poem!

    Thank you for reading and your comment!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  38. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Marousia!

    Thank you!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  39. Bodhirose Says:

    Very charming–I really enjoyed this dream-invoked poem of yours.

    Like

  40. ladynyo Says:

    thank you!

    I’ll drop by your site and read.

    We had tremendous rains and lightening and I lost power today, so I am tardy in responding.

    Thank you for reading and your comment!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  41. Carys Says:

    Love this quirky little tale.

    Like

  42. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Carys…it is quirky.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  43. Reflections Says:

    LOL… but you have to love it! Definitely smiles, maybe a little indigestion, but then heart burn is good for the soul isn’t it? Don’t we always refer to passion as being on fire.

    Like

  44. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Reflections, for reading and your comment.

    Yes…being on fire can be of a passionate nature…or you are standing to close to the barbeque.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  45. Joe Hesch Says:

    Knowing that you have moved to a vegetarian life gives this piece even more of a kick. No wonder it came from a dream! Nice work, Jane.

    Like

  46. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! You know what, Joe?

    Someone else had to point this out to me (Margie). I was clueless!

    Funny that we write what we eat!

    Thank you, Joe, for reading and your very insightful comment! LOL!

    Jane

    Like

  47. Steve Isaak Says:

    Love this, wish I’d written this. =)

    Like

  48. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Steve…well, first pass and all, it has some promise…I hope.

    I called it “Canto 1”, which means I am stalling but I intend to write on. Where and when, I dunno.

    I need to do some specific study of The Inquisition….this was just something that came because of the colors of Goya…really. You know painters…we are all over the place!

    Oh, sorry, I thought you were commenting on the next poem….My bad.

    yeah, this Dish of Skylarks went in a very quirky direction…someone pointed out it was because I was doing vegan eating….Duh…I didn’t make the connection…which sez something about my disconnection….LOL!

    Jane

    Thanks, friend, for reading this. Talk soon.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

