‘Seasons Change’, posted for dversepoets. com and Gooseberrygoespoetic.com

 

"Dusk", oil, janekohut-bartels, 2006

SEASONS CHANGE

 

I took a walk this morning.

The season has changed here

though where you are they don’t.

The dried, brittle grass beneath my feet

made a consistent crackle,

echoed by the gossip of sparrows above.

The leaves are stripped from the birches and maples.

They fell like rain on a fallow ground one day

and I didn’t see them go.

I think of your rounded arms when I see the shedding birches,

the smooth bark like white skin with a faint pulse of the river beneath.

Do you remember that river, when it scared you to stand close to the bank?

You thought the earth would slip inward,

take you on a wild ride downstream where

I couldn’t retrieve you,

and I saw for an instant your raised arms imploring me silently to save you—

though it never happened and you never slipped down the bank and I never could save you.

But imagination plays with your mind when it’s all that is left.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2011

from ‘White Cranes of Heaven’, published by Lulu.com, 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

39 Responses to “‘Seasons Change’, posted for dversepoets. com and Gooseberrygoespoetic.com”

  1. halfwaybetweenthegutter Says:

    “But imagination plays with your mind when it’s all that is left.” – beautiful, and a sentiment I think a lot of people can relate to.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, I agree. Sometimes this is all we have left.

    Thank you for reading this poem and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. Steve E Says:

    Hey there woman! This poem put instantly put me into ‘relax’ mode. Made me feel like I was on earth and in heaven all in the same time.

    For me…a meditation initiate.Many thanks, friend…from Steve in Charleston, SC…where it’s a comfortable place for me to be.
    PEACE!

    Like

  4. Steve E Says:

    Hey there woman! This poem put instantly put me into ‘relax’ mode. Made me feel like I was on earth and in heaven all in the same time.

    For me…a meditation initiate.Many thanks, friend…from Steve in Charleston, SC…where it’s a comfortable place for me to be.
    PEACE!

    And that painting–WOW! I sometimes forget what a fine artist you are. And you play the violin TOO? Oh, it’s almost too much, girl!!!

    Like

  5. The Orange Tree Says:

    so true, nature could be deceptive,

    imaginations plays a role as well.

    love the imagery here, a thought provoking piece.

    Like

  6. Morning Says:

    I took a walk this morning.

    The season has changed here

    though where you are they don’t.

    love the walk with you in your thoughts, beautiful opening, well done.

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Morning.

    Many don’t realize he’s talking to the dead in this poem….it’s actually sad.

    Thank you for reading and for your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Hello! Thank you for reading this poem and your lovely comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Steve,
    You are in one of the most lovely spots in the country…Charleston. So much better than Savannah.

    Enjoy your stay,

    and thank you for reading “Seasons Change” and your encouraging comment.

    Jane

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    You would laugh your head off, scowl and throw my fiddle out the window if you ever heard me. We will leave that ‘gift’ in the dark…LOL!

    Glad you liked the painting….oil instead of the usual watercolor…which I am doing another painting started this weekend.

    You have the very best time in Charleston…I can’t think of a better place in the south to be.

    Hugs and Love,

    Jane

    Like

  11. liv2write2day Says:

    There is a lot of poignancy in this one. When someone has been a part of your life and now exists only in the imagination there’s a big gaping wound where they should be. Victoria

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Exactly, Victoria.

    I don’t think that wound ever closes.

    Thank you for reading this poem, Victoria and for leaving a comment.

    Hugs,

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  13. Richard Cody Says:

    Lovely and true. What more can we ask of poetry?

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Richard.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  15. syreil Says:

    wow. lovely written! 🙂
    you can read my post for Gooseberry Garden Poetry:
    After Midnight

    thanks!

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Syreil,

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  17. Pat Hatt Says:

    Really like the close, imagination can be a wonderful thing, least it keeps one occupied, wonderful write.

    Like

  18. brian miller Says:

    whew…what a closing line on imagination…so true…and though you never fell i could never save you…that they are else where makes this all the more haunting…nice lady nyo…

    Like

  19. libithina Says:

    ‘But imagination plays with your mind when it’s all that is left’
    yes it can run away with you ~
    sometimes we need another for perspective and sometimes imagination gives to that wanting void
    brilliant write Jane
    Lib.

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Lib.

    This was a sad one.

    Jane

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Brian.

    Thank you for reading and leaving a comment.

    Jane

    Like

  22. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Pat…
    Thank you, Pat for reading and your comment.

    I’m very slow today, but will make the rounds….

    Jane

    Like

  23. Margie Says:

    This poem always makes me think of Bob, especially the part about never being able to save him. Makes me sad, but in a good way, if that’s possible. Like it is what it is, and now we move on. Just beautiful. Love you and so appreciate your friendship!

    Like

  24. Heaven Says:

    I like that last line… what imagination can lead us to believe….

    Very beautiful yet sad… thanks for sharing this ~

    Like

  25. ladynyo Says:

    You are welcome, Heaven.

    Yes, it is sad.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  26. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Margie…

    I think you are right….I didn’t think of it before, but it does tell of our Bob. And you are right: no one was able to save him, poor lamb.

    Margie, I love you back 10 fold and also appreciate our friendship. What would I do without knowing you?

    Love,
    Jane

    Like

  27. Monika Says:

    Incredibly beautiful, that’s all I would say.

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Monika,

    I appreciate you reading “Seasons Change” and your commenting.

    I’ll make the rounds today….but slowly…it’s raining and I have stupid appointments.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  29. hedgewitch Says:

    Wonderful poem(and painting) Jane–subtle but powerful clinching lines, and well drawn imagery throughout. Enjoyed and appreciated it.

    Like

  30. tinkwelborn Says:

    Now, I got to say, in going through my Crits so for tonight, this is the best poem I’ve read, so far.
    I like you structure, what you say, and how you say it.
    (I’m a Billy Collins fan – and this smacks a little of his type of poetry.)
    I’m in…love this poem!
    thanks for creating and sharing it.

    Like

  31. Sarah Johnston Says:

    wow such a strong ending playing with your mind when that is all we have left and sometime that is all that we have left
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/18/mirror-of-truth/

    Like

  32. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Tinkwelborn,

    That’s high praise!

    Thank you for reading and your lovely comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  33. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Hedge!

    Working my way around the two poetry sites…..slow because of life right now…but thank you, always, Hedge,
    for reading and your insightful comments.

    Thought readers would enjoy a non-Nyo week.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  34. Jeff Says:

    Could you save him if he was there again to be saved – Yes, “but imagination plays with your mind when it’s all that is left.”

    I think it is the regrets tell us life is good if we just let it be.

    You have written about a loss, crafted a beautiful remembrance.

    I hope life is good.

    Like

  35. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Jeff,
    Thank you. I was surprised how many readers had their own loss, but then again, this is life.

    Thank you, Jeff, for reading and your lovely comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  36. Gay Reiser Cannon Says:

    Loved this autumnal piece. It resonated with me in so many ways. I love each poem of yours more and more. I’ll send you an email soon. Sorry I haven’t done so sooner. Thank you for these beautiful words. It was so visual, so poignant!

    Like

  37. ladynyo Says:

    Hey Gay!
    I was just looking for your blog, and this popped up!

    I am so far behind in reading other poet’s work this week….doctor appointments, ugh….constant torment! Someone got a new machine apparently, and they MUST play with it. LOL!

    I was hoping that it would have resonance with you. I was going to track you down and put it before your eyes…LOL!

    We’ll talk soon. Am working on this piece about the Man’yoshu….and it’s really a wonderful collection. I hope people will enjoy it IF it ever gets done.

    Thank you, Gay, for reading and your lovely comment.

    Jane

    Like

  38. johnallenrichter Says:

    Lovely poem, seasons changing, but not where he is… and then the ending was so unexpected and powerful…

    Like

  39. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, John,
    for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

