New Haiku, “Cold Moon” and a poem, “Plum Blossom Snow”

 

"Spring", watercolor, janekohutbartels, 2006

“Spring”, watercolor, janekohutbartels, 2006

Writing haiku is like eating chocolates…once you start, it’s addictive.  I am early in this more formal study of haiku, so I am probably violating everything about them, but I am trying to first proceed from direct observation .

These  new ones I am collecting under the title:  “Cold Moon”.

Perhaps it’s the pollen, but it is definitely spring, and the weather outside is so tender and lovely.  It won’t last long, here in the South of USA because we generally get violent storms in this season, and then a long, long stretch of drought and heat.  But until that part of the season reveals itself, there is so much right outside my window, and in my gardens, and up in the sky to inspire.

Lady Nyo

Cold Moon 

 

The koi are hungry

Orange mouths gulp green water

Good the algae grows

 

Spring robins watch

Quarrelsome beasts these birds!

They don’t share the worms

 

Half submerged eyes

Of frogs in algae filled pond

Reflect cloudy moon

 

Swifts- dark crescent moons

Sickles cutting through the dusk

Tag the slower bats

 

 

Chatter of sparrows

Treble voices to spring song

Dried leaves percussion

 

Soft rains caress earth

A hand slides up a soft thigh

Cherry blossoms bloom 

 

Sultry air disturbs

The sleep of husband and wife

Panting without lust

 

 

POEM

 

Plum Blossom Snow

 

 

The present snowstorm of

White plum blossoms

Blinds me to sorrow.

 

They cascade over cheeks

Like perfumed, satin tears,

Too warm with the promise of life

To chill flesh.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2012

 “Plum Blossom Snow” was published in “White Cranes of Heaven”, 2011, Lulu.com

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 Responses to “New Haiku, “Cold Moon” and a poem, “Plum Blossom Snow””

  1. Eve Redwater Says:

    “Spring robins watch

    Quarrelsome beasts these birds!

    They don’t share the worms”

    – is my favourite one! They’re so mischievous. 🙂

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Eve for reading these new haiku.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. A.B. Thomas Says:

    The last line, “Panting without lust”, loved that line, it presents such a sedate image of a husband and wife after presenting such a beastal activity as it is their nature to be.

    ps. I hope you don’t mind, but I was asked to do a poetry blog review for “JP at Olive Garden” and I been delightfully scouring through your writings – with considerable delight I should add.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi A.B.
    thank you for reading these haiku, etc.

    That was a very nice review, (at Jingle Poetry at Olive Garden) though at first I was alarmed because my poetry has been stolen recently, and published under the names of different poetry thieves on different poetry sites. I didn’t know this until I was contacted by administrators of these sites.

    This poetry was already published in two of my three books…”A Seasoning of Lust”, and “White Cranes of Heaven”, published by Lulu.com.

    Because of these recent issues, I have stayed away from all other poetry sites. I only post at d’versepoets.com, but perhaps I can venture out a bit.

    Thank you for your lovely review of this blog.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. Richard Cody Says:

    Always a joy to read.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Richard.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  7. ManicDdaily Says:

    How lovely to be blinded to sorrow, and then have warm hand on soft thigh too. Lovely mix of hot and cold in all of these. K.

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    LoL! K: there is a series of these rather sexual haiku, that I don’t trot out very often. LOL!

    “Plum Blossom Snow” is probably my favorite poem, and it always evokes a deep emotion in me. Written at a particularly tough time.

    Thank you, K, for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  9. Yousei Hime Says:

    There are good images in those haiku, but I love your “Plum Blossom Snow” best. When beauty can pull us from our grief…. 🙂

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Yousei Hime…I struggle with haiku, as most of us do. It’s full of isuss, rules, guidelines, etc. It’s particularly cultural, yet I believe is a universal form of voice.

    I like that poem, too. Best. It was written at a particularly difficult time in my life, and when I read it, (which is not often) a lot of things come flooding back.

    Thank you so much for reading this and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  11. brian miller Says:

    these are so fun…my fav is the sparrow song and the leaves….and i love standing in blossom showers as well so the imagery of your poem was lovely to me…

    Like

  12. claudia Says:

    ugh..i wasn’t expecting the closure on the first one…ouch.. and great work on the contrasts.. and i just love when everything’s blossoming…esp. the cherry trees…but plum blossoms are good as well..smiles…Too warm with the promise of life
    To chill flesh….wow..

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Brian. Haiku has nothing against it for being fun. I’m trying to base all these new haiku in direct observation, and to hell with the classical stuff. LOL!

    I’m a bit under the weather right now (continuing vertigo) but I will make the rounds tomorrow.

    Thank you so much for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Claudia. My cherry tree died last spring. Just put out enough blossoms for me to wear with kimono to a spring festival, and then bellied up~

    So I am cherry-less.

    thank you for reading and your lovely comment. I’ll make the rounds tomorrow when I’m not so dizzy!

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  15. Heaven (@asweetlust) Says:

    I love the haiku and poem…cherry blossoms and white plums blooms….stellar work. You are my inspiration in writing these forms Jane. I hope you feel better ~

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Heaven.

    I would never wish this vertigo on anyone…even an enemy. It’s hard to take, because you are woozy and drunk feeling..and you can’t focus. Perhaps haiku is the perfect form for something like this…LOL!

    heaven, it’s really a produce of observation, as Basho says…of course there is more behind this classical form, but reading some of the the great haikuists…you get a sense of what is can be about. I would recommend Basho first, then Issa and Bucon. These are stellar haiku-ists.

    Thank you so much, Heaven, for reading these and your lovely comment. I’ll make the rounds tomorrow when I can focus.

    Jane

    Like

  17. Elizabeth Young Says:

    As always I love your poetry Jane, the soft sounds, the sweet metaphors. It is always a pleasure to come by and relax in your bliss.

    Like

  18. tashtoo Says:

    Oh my! I couldn’t pick a favorite if I was paid to! each is wonderful!

    Like

  19. wayside word garden Says:

    “Too warm with the promise of life

    To chill flesh.”

    Those lines are just stellar! Enjoyed the imagery throughout.

    Like

  20. oceangirl Says:

    I like and enjoy reading the poem. The images are outside my room except for the one inside the room.

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Glad you enjoyed and thank you for reading, Oceangirl.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  22. ladynyo Says:

    Thanjk you for reading and your lovely comment, Wayside word garden.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Tashtoo. These were fun to do.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  24. ladynyo Says:

    You are so kind, Elizabeth.

    Thank you for reading and your lovely comment.

    Jane

    Like

  25. Blue Flute Says:

    I love watching koi in the green Japanese ponds. The last one, “Sultry air disturbs / The sleep of husband and wife / Panting without lust” also stood out to me.

    Like

  26. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Blue Flute: thank you for reading.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  27. Gay Says:

    Lovely Haiku set, Jane. Your work is always so natural and stands in contrast line to line enhancing the meaning of the spare syllables. Plum Blossom Snow – it is quite like that. Funny I used Cherry Blossom rain in my Ghazal. Maybe we’re moving on the same wave lengths. Sending love…

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Gay, I just read your Ghazal…and yes, we are moving on the same wave length.

    I don’t dig too deep into my haiku, one because I really don’t know much of what I am doing, in a classical, formal way, but just hoping like Basho said: to look, observe and feel around you.
    Of course, he is much deeper than that by what he means, but I am just on the surface of these things.

    “Plum Blossom Snow” came out of a time of real pain. It is probably my favorite poem, hands down. It started this study of tanka and haiku, though it isn’t either, but sent me into a realm of a very alien literature…where I mix my feet in and try to make sense of it all.

    Thank you, Gay, for reading and your lovely, lovely comment.

    Sending love back.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

