“Spring Moon”

A spring moon

(courtesy of panoramio.com)

The supermoon of a few days ago was delightful, but this poem was written a few days before Luna showed her full face.  I leaned on my rake and was so taken by her appearance, this little poem formed fast.  It is a slight poem, but like  Saigyo, and his love of the moon, it was an immediate response to what was before my eyes.

Lady Nyo

Spring Moon

 

The moon this spring afternoon

Floated high above the saddle of distant trees, hills,

As she pillowed on her part of the universe

Her face no more colored than a passing cloud.

She looked sleepy, tired—

Of course!  All this waxing and waning.

She looked down at me as she cuddled the pale sky

Just one eye awake,

A part of her mouth exposed

The rest of her face burrowed in sky,

No gleam, no intent of prowling the heavens.

Just waking up—I expected her to yawn!

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2012

Tags: , , , , ,

28 Responses to ““Spring Moon””

  1. Yousei Hime Says:

    How sweet. Almost like watching a young child sleeping.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Exactly! Her face and posture seemed ‘human’.

    Thank you for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. leahJlynn Says:

    lovely, i like how you say shes a bit sleepy. cute

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, leah Jlynn…for reading and your comment.

    She looked very sleepy.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  5. Steve E Says:

    Lady NYO, your talent for personalizing objects is well-exemplified in this ‘moon-shot’..and short–grin! Glad I got to be here with you now.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Steve, I read you have been suffering with vertigo. My deep sympathies to you, as I have just come out of 5 weeks of this hell.

    Yep, I have turned to short poetry because the longer efforts don’t do very well with vertigo.

    thank you, Friend Steve, for reading and your lovely comment.

    Jane

    Like

  7. sunmoonstar Says:

    Lovely! I don’t think I’ve ever read a description of the moon that made it seem as cuddly and as human as you’ve done here, Jane!

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Thank you, Nick!

    Well, leaning on my rake, I was struck how ‘human’ she seemed. It was quite a moment of awe and wonder for me.

    Thank you, Nick, for reading and your comment. Did you see the “supermoon” on your continent a few days later?

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  9. Gay Reiser Cannon Says:

    I’ve never seen the moon personified this way. The beauty resting listless in a cloudy sky is a great and novel image. You expressed it so eloquently. Lovely.

    Like

  10. brian miller Says:

    smiles…she hid behind the clouds as she crossed my sky so she must have been trying to go back to sleep a bit…smiles…love your personification of the moon jane…

    Like

  11. chris Says:

    Lovely personification. Beautiful!
    Rakes are great for leaning on when there is nature to admire.

    Like

  12. Julián Esteban Torres López Says:

    I expected her to yawn too. 🙂

    Like

  13. tashtoo Says:

    It’s Mother Moon! 🙂 Simply a wonderful weave, Poetess! Beautiful language, as always, tied up in a beautiful package. I attempted photo’s of the fantastic super moon as she climbed in the sky, but unfortunately…an iPhone is a phone and not a camera 😦

    Like

  14. Cindee Snider Re Says:

    Stopping by via dVerse Poets tonight, and I’m so glad I did. This is whimsical and absolutely delightful!

    Like

  15. hedgewitch Says:

    These little poems that sprout when we are simply being, they are the sweetest gift, I think. Thanks for sharing this moment, this picture of the moon, childlike and sleepy, but still in her saddle. Beautiful work, Jane.

    Like

  16. ManicDdaily Says:

    Very sweet! A lovely fanciful poem. K.

    Like

  17. claudia Says:

    great capture…love the yawning…and of course she’s tired made me smile…sometimes we all are with the excitement of spring…even more the moon…nice..

    Like

  18. sunmoonstar Says:

    The “supermoon” was talked about in the media and it looked amazing on TV but, alas, the moment passed and I didn’t actually see it. I’ve been preoccupied with other things of late…

    Like

  19. ladynyo Says:

    Yep, Nick….it hung like a eerie lantren low in the sky, with branches striated across her face. She seemed like she would never move, and the next time I saw her, she was high in the night and rather normal. Here, the drama was with the early rising….and it was worth looking.

    Jane

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    thanks, Claudia….
    Jane

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, K.

    Jane

    Like

  22. ladynyo Says:

    You are exactly right, Hedge. ‘these little poems that sprout’. Last night I was reading something of Faulkner, and he said being a writer (he said he had given up on poetry because it was too hard…) required three things: experience, observation and imagination. I think observation is the most important thing….because imagination comes from this usually.

    Thanks, Joy….for reading and understanding.

    Jane

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you Cindee…and glad you stopped by dverse. There is a gold mine in there!

    Jane

    Like

  24. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Tashtoo~ Yep, I know that issue with Iphone not being a camera. LOL~

    Jane

    Like

  25. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Julian. Similar observations!

    Jane

    Like

  26. ladynyo Says:

    I agree…recently with this bout of vertigo, my rake has become my third leg.

    Thanks for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  27. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Brian.

    Jane

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Gay. It was a simple thing.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

