9/11

A day of Memory for our nation.

 

9-11

 

That beautiful morning,

Teasing taste of early Autumn

The unthinkable happened

And our world stopped turning.

I saw the plane, I saw the fire

I saw the smoke descend like

A blanket of blinding grief

Too late to spare those on the ground

The sight of Armageddon.

 

 

Mortar-grey people transformed

Into gritty moving statues,

Holding hands, blinded by smoke,

Move down streets where

Paper, bricks, metal, glass rained down

Like the Devil’s Ticket Parade,

Walked in silence towards the bridges,

Barely a moan I am told,

An Exodus unexpected on this

Morning of such seasonal promise.

 

I saw worse.

I saw people jump

From the ledges, holding hands,

Some with briefcases

And all I could do

Was howl:

 

“I will catch you!

Jump into my arms

I will not drop you.

Do not be afraid,

Aim for my embracing arms,

With the last of my life—

I will catch you.”

 

That day of fire and ash,

Inexplicable funeral pyre,

Of brave souls rushing in

And frightened souls rushing out

And the ash, the ash, the ash,

Covered everything like a silent September snow.

 

Eleven years later

Grieving when this day approaches,

I hear the words well up in me:

 

“We will catch you!

Jump into our arms,

We will not drop you.

You will not be forgotten,

With the last of our breath–

We will catch you.”

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 9-11-2012

Tags: , , ,

23 Responses to “9/11”

  1. Yousei Hime Says:

    Tenderly written. Thank you for the remembrance.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, sweetie…it was a horrific event…and felt and mourned worldwide.

    Thank you for your kind comment.

    Jane

    Like

  3. leahJlynn Says:

    It was terrible. May it never happen again and Thank you for this empathetic write.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Leah…

    You are right….it was terrible. And may it never happen again, but fanatics being what they are, they probably will attempt something else.

    Thank you so much for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  5. hedgewitch Says:

    I always find this topic so hard to relive–this has that immediacy of terror and tragedy, the adrenaline and the tears–in every drop of ink. Yes, if only we could have caught them, told them to run ten minutes before the planes came, if only…yet they are still with us, as long as any of us who watched remain.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Agreed, Joy….as long as those of us who saw what happened, whether there or on tv….has breath in our lungs….we will never forget.

    Thank you, Joy….for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  7. tara pohlkotte Says:

    haunting in its beauty. in its quiet yet strong rememberance. lovely.

    Like

  8. brian miller Says:

    vivid and intense you bring the day right back to the forefront…it is the people falling that gets me everytime…the desire to catch them….it pings my heart hard….another that brings me to tears…

    Like

  9. marousia Says:

    Beautiful words on a difficult topic … we are all haunted forever

    Like

  10. Gay Reiser Cannon Says:

    A beautiful tribute Jane – a terrible day, and a time of bonding that came and left again. I think of you often and hope you are healing and feeling well. Sorry I haven’t kept up very well. Went through a bad patch for a while, but feeling quite well now and am again back at the coast. Wishing all good things for you in this season of beauty! Gay

    Like

  11. ManicDdaily Says:

    Hi Jane – it was an incredibly beautiful morning. Were you in New York? It’s all so strange to me as I was in the City, downtown – and I’ve never been able to watch the TV coverage afterward so don’t really know what other people saw. Your poem describes a lot very well, the terrible dust and quiet. k .

    Like

  12. Kiana@NakedSoulPoet Says:

    “And the ash, the ash, the ash,

    Covered everything like a silent September snow.”

    Lovely imagery!

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Kiana.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Hi K…no, I was in Atlanta….however…for months I was glued to the tv….crying. I felt like I was there.

    Thank you for reading and your comment. I’ll be over to your site tomorrow.

    Jane

    Like

  15. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Gay…glad you are feeling better. Life.

    My wrist isn’t healing well for some reason and I will have to see another doctor. Yesterday I was in Home Depot and a big man…at least 6’3″ and over 200 lbs…just bolted from the cash register and almost knocked me over. I hit my arm on the cart. He was a shop lifter and trying to steal faucets. I believe security got him, but he was BIG.

    I second that wish…for you, Gay. This season is one of my favorites…and hopefully we will all maintain our health now. Blessings, Gay.

    Jane

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Marousia….haunting is exactly the word.

    Thank you for reading and your comment. Will be over on your site tomorrow. Recovering from a slight accident in Home Depot. never ends.

    Jane

    Like

  17. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Brian…yeap.. same thing here. The falling especially haunts, like Marousia said.

    Thanks for reading and your comment. Will be over to your site Thursday.

    Jane

    Like

  18. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Tara.

    Jane

    Like

  19. Blue Flute Says:

    All this time
    And what I remember
    Is the bursting smoke
    And empty sky

    Like

  20. skype ubuntu Says:

    You could definitely see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

    Like

  21. Nick Says:

    A very moving, cathartic and heartfelt poem, Jane. Thank you.

    Like

  22. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Nick.

    Jane

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

