“Lady Nyo Forgives Her Husband”…..

I found these poems in “A Seasoning of Lust”, published by Lulu.com in 2009. They certainly can be used in “The Nightingale’s Song”, a collection of poems about the marriage of Lord and Lady Nyo and their marital turmoil. I just have to figure a way to use them without unbalancing what I have already done. I do think they point to the power that Lady Nyo has in this marriage, even married to an old samurai.

LADY NYO FORGIVES HER HUSBAND…

1.
Stop tickling me!
Yes, I forgive you,
but you take such liberties!
Your hands are not clean from
previous crimes.
Go wash them in the snow of
last year’s falling.
Then I will reconsider your request.

2.
Look! There is a cardinal,
red as blood and as cocky
as a lord.
See his mate?
She is dull, but has her lipstick
on this morning.

3.

My face still bears blushes.
You thought it was good health?
No, it just reflects the liberty
of dreams.

4.
(My mind is still shattered
And my heart still sore.)
But I put on a fresh face
full of smiles and polite manner.
It would shock our friends if
they knew the turmoil of
my heart.

5.
You came with a mouthful of ‘sorry’
and leave now with other parts eased.
Never mind.
Your coming and going has served a dual purpose.

6.
The spring is so tender.
My heart blooms like the white plums.
Do you think our happiness will last
til apple time?

7.
Off you go,
and don’t look back.
If you turn, you will see serenity.
But behind this mask,
is a well of longing.

8.
Last night
I tied my kimono tightly,
bound it with a red silk rope
like an impassioned lover’s hands
around a wasp waist,
and kneeling upon a cushion,
awaited the rising of the moon.

Jane Kohut-Bartels
Copyrighted, 2012

Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to ““Lady Nyo Forgives Her Husband”…..”

  1. Steve E Says:

    Guess I just HAD to write what could not wait…enjoy SO much your writing in the style of Japanese–I have a story about that in conjunction with symphony concerts in Ephraim Wisconsin. LOVE your pages, Jane
    PEACE

    Like

  2. Craig Scoffone Studios Says:

    Dear Lady Nyo, I’m looking for very cool sites to trade text links with, and I’d like to know if you would be interested. Please visit my site of fine art figurative photography, and let me know if you’d enjoy a links trade. Thank you so much !!!

    – Craig
    http://www.erotic-fine-art.com

    Like

  3. Steve E Says:

    OMG Jane, sorry. My misunderstanding is unforgivable, thought sure you had written those lines in your post. My admiration of your work is not diminished by one byte!

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Well, Steve…I love mice and save mosquitoes from the bath water…so…

    Thanks for reading…I guess.

    Peace…

    Jane

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    Be easy, Steve…I took no offense.

    Writers read what they think, not exactly what is there on the printed page.

    Peace,
    Jane

    Like

  6. Steve E Says:

    Trying to cover too much ground, with so little tarp. Will try to be more discerning…Thanks, Dear Lady!

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    It’s alright, Steve…do that myself. Right now am trying to write on (finish up at least 2) three novels…..all different cultural experiences. Tin Hinan (6th century Berber), Az Kapitany, modern, Hungarian bdsm novel, and “The Nightingale’s Song”….

    You would not believe the confusion here.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  8. brian miller Says:

    ha i like the playfulness of these…that first one…the tickling…and the coming with a mouthful of sorries with other parts eased…lol….really cool little bits jane

    Like

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks Brian…I do too, and I think “playfulness’ is exactly the word for some of these….or most.

    the problem is how to incorporate them in the story? I would have to either give them their own chapter, but they might not fit right. Well, I will have to see because some of them are too good to pass up on. At least they speak to the underlying character of this Lady Nyo and her strengths faced with her bumbling husband.

    Thanks, Brian, for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  10. hedgewitch Says:

    Love all of these, Jane–they really run the gamut, and give a whole view of the marriage and the woman that inhabits it and defines it. Each is self-contained, yet like beads on a string, make a more beautiful whole put together.

    Like

  11. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Joy! I’m so glad you liked these small poems. I am trying to give her more ‘umph’ in life and marriage than what sometimes we are accustomed to see in this sort of culture.

    I will try to ‘string them together’…like beads on a string…because perhaps they will perform something that I haven’t been actually able to do with this series of poems. Lady Nyo is a strong character, and sometimes I have her so overwhelmed by her husband, she disappears.

    Thank you, Joy! For reading and your insightful comment.

    Jane

    Like

  12. ayala Says:

    Love all these, Jane. 🙂

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Ayala!

    I’m trying to get back in the swing of things…writing, etc..but the energy is low right now. Broke my wrist this summer and it hasn’t healed yet. Damn! I don’t recommend breaking bones…

    Jane

    Like

  14. Fred Bartels Says:

    I thought these led to the basis of your story.

    Like

  15. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Fred,

    well, in a way they do… but they predate “The Nightingale’s Song” by three years…so what came first? The chicken or the egg?

    Thanks for reading and your comment.

    Jane

    Like

  16. ManicDdaily Says:

    I really adore these Jane. You capture the style so well, and make it your own. They’re a lot of fun and poignant too. Very impressed. k.

    Like

  17. ladynyo Says:

    Ah shucks, K. LOL! I love these pieces, too. I feel most comfortable in this style and this culture for some reason. perhaps because my married name used to be Mori????

    LOL! Well, I am so glad you like them…because writing for me has become something of this: I satisfy myself and entertain others…LOL! Or perhaps it’s both …..I really get a kick out of these pieces…so I guess they entertain me LOL!

    I feel most at peace writing this work…and I get such a kick out of reading the Manyoshu….Every time I pick it up (and I have 5 different works…lol) I get so much out of the emotion of the poems….they really transport me somewhere else.

    A good friend of many years, Nick Nicholson, who is a bud and a good writer from Canberra….says that I have a little elderly Japanese woman deep inside and she writes all this stuff. Tanka, too. LOL! He might be right.

    Thank you, K…for reading and especially for liking these chapters.

    Jane

    Like

  18. ManicDdaily Says:

    I will have to read more. K.

    Like

  19. ladynyo Says:

    k…I think the Manyoshu is possibly the most important document to read in the history of Japan. There are others of course, but this document is so far reaching and erotic (in a truly beautiful way) that it can’t help but impact a modern reader/writer.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

