‘Musings On The End Of A Day’, from “A Seasoning of Lust”

Something to clear the air. Thank you, all who have written to us about Sophie.

Lady Nyo

I move my chair

to observe Mt. Fuji-

monstrous  perfection

topped with the cooling crust

of spring snows.

Languid movements

of a branch,

like a geisha

unfurling her arm

from a gray kimono,

makes petals fall,

a scented, pink snow

covering my upturned face

with careless kisses.

Timid winds caress

my limbs,

bringing relief

to old and tired bones

brittle now with life’s argument

and sullen defeat.

Raked sands of garden

waves are hardly disturbed

by feet like two gray stones

and grains  flow

round ankles and

I realize once again

I am no obstacle to

the ‘sands of time’.

My heart is quieted

by the passage of nothing

for in this nothing

is revealed the fullness of life.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2009

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “‘Musings On The End Of A Day’, from “A Seasoning of Lust””

  1. Caliban's Sister Says:

    Amen.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Amen indeed, Sister.

    Hugs….

    Like

  3. Caliban's Sister Says:

    Time to light two candles. Get a good night’s sleep if you can, and all good blessings that can come out of my house are wending their way to you and to Sophie’s grave. Sprinkle some extra milk on it for me and my pack tomorrow a.m, ok?

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Will do…you are so kind, CS.

    Sophie got the rest of the half and half, so she is down to regular milk for now…LOL! But she only liked whole milk. Quite the little queen.

    Ah, CS, it’s so hard to carry this grief, but the memories of the dying and the trauma will fade and Sophie will come forth in all her blazing glory.

    Thumper, her brother was very subdued this morning, and hid under the bed for most of the day. We flea combed him….not bad, but decided to give him a Dawn dishwashing bath….the fleas can’t hold on as well to the hair folicles that way. A couple of squirts of Nutrical and Pedialyte down his gullet, and he is purring away. I think the issue here is with my elderly cats, they can’t tolerate the poisons to kill fleas…Frontline, etc. So…it’s flea baths without flea soap, and combing and basically brewer’s yeast to change the smell of the blood: fleas don’t like the flood of B vitamins….but it takes about 6 weeks to come into effect.

    Also, I believe along with pet owners that Squibb, etc..know that their flea formulas don’t work anymore. The fleas have mutated about 4 years ago and it seems these commercial preps don’t work. Squibb is just trying to avoid the issue of redeveloping their product to keep up with the mutations. I firmly believe that after 4 years of complaints this company should be avoided. And the issue of nerve toxins should put us all on edge: with elderly pets, dogs and cats, the issue is what is going on with the liver: this compromises an already compromised liver.

    So, there are other products to use that are efficient and not toxic. I just ordered one (pricey) from Amazon.com for cats and dogs, and it smells wonderful. Sesame oil, lemongrass, cinnamon oil and a few other obtainable ingredients.

    Thanks, CS…for your kindness to Rose and Sophie…and me.

    Hugs,
    Jane…. pain meds kicking in big time!

    Like

  5. Caliban's Sister Says:

    Morning Jane, yes in time the image in your head of Sophie’s last day will fade; I still try not to remember Sadie’s last day, it flips the depression switch on in my head. I remember how joyous and happy she was. Even in her decline, she was a happy happy dog, with a visible smile on her face. People I didn’t know would walk past her and smile at her because she was smiling at them.

    I tried mixing up a batch of sprayable oil like you’re describing, with a solvent, because I too detest the slow poisoning of our pets by the products. But I must say, it didn’t really work. I think with elderly pets, you’re right. They cannot tolerate the flea/tick poison. The only reason I use Frontline (are they Squibb?) is that I cannot afford to contract lyme disease, not with my other health issues. So it’s more to protect me than them, in way. Heartworm meds though have to be given.
    Enjoy the meds until your jaw feels better. Weirdly I had a toothache yesterday afternoon, looked at my rear molar and discovered an obvious cavity. Jeez. Hadn’t seen the dentist in two years. Glad I didn’t pop for that canine root canal. josie is doing just great today, hoovered in her wet kibble, ran around the park kicking my other dog’s rear. I don’t even think she realizes the molar is gone. Vet did an excellent job. No swelling, and by this morning, no visible pain. Me, meh……..

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Morning, CS….sorry for that toothache! Yikes…well, have been there. Get to that dentist as fast as you can. We put ourselves behind everything, but that is the way we were ‘made’.

    Josie …so glad that you did what you did. And Josie won’t have to be subjected to more dentristy. Bad enough for the usual stuff. Animals recover fast from these things…except when they don’t.

    Thumper is better this am…the little fart. He slept wrapped like a kitty burrito on our bed, between us, and though I had a heating pad under a few towels on low in a chair…he kept creeping back into our bed. Gave him a bath last night and did find a few fleas. I’ll send you privately this greast smellng flea product…I’m using it on the cats…..but it is supposed to work on dogs, too. And I know your fear of lyme disease. you are right about that.

    Thumper ate a lot of wet food this morning, twice…and drank a lot of water. Now he’s lying on the couch, under a fan, wrapped in his blanket. I think he’s milking it for what he can, frankly. But after Sophie, he knows the buttons to push: they all do.

    Animals do smile! And people respond. It’s more in the eyes, I think…but Sadie…I can see this! Happy pets make people happy, too. Even total strangers.

    Called the sweet dentist this am: the pain med is driving me crazy…I am itching up a storm. He said it’s a side effect. Well hell! I am walking through the house scratching on any door frame like an old horse! He’s called in something different to bypass this horrendous itching.

    If your doggies are young, I wouldn’t worry about Frontline, etc. With elderly pets, it doesn’t help the liver at all. So….we will see here..but flea infestations are horrid things, and there are just some cats you can’t safely bath. They like the flea comb though…but that is a half measure. All my dogs get Sentry or Frontline…which doesn’t actually work anymore methinks.

    Hope you get to your dentist fast if you are in pain.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

