“Easter Morning”, a new poem…..

 

Watercolor, Early Spring, Jane Kohut-Bartels, 2011

Watercolor, Early Spring, Jane Kohut-Bartels, 2011

 

EASTER MORNING

 

The wind chimes are fierce

This Easter morning.

We thought of church where we would be aliens

Unknown and suspect, sitting on hard wooden pews; trespassers.

 

The music of the spheres

Is not out in the black of night

Does not pass from shooting star to star

As tones of energy or an ocean of harmony

But is carried by the wind from the east

That tallies majesty

With the music of wind chimes

More glorious than any carillon this morning.

 

I am soothed by a spirit

Random and precise,

Almost tangible blustering by

piercing my heart

As it jangles the simple vehicle of

Hollow metal pipes

And awakes me to life.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted 2014

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to ““Easter Morning”, a new poem…..”

  1. TR Says:

    Beautiful poem. Is there a religious connotation with the last verse? xx

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    you know what? I try to go towards religion, but it just doesn’t fit for me. All these years, and it just doesn’t. It’s too narrow for me. I would rather sit outside and listen to the wind, watch Nature unfold before me. This is about as religious as I can get. Those hollow metal pipes could be organ pipes in a church, but they are the wind chimes. They bring the celestial music to me on earth.

    Love, Jane….however, I have been reading Matthew Fox and Meister Eckhart (12 century theologian) and they have a lot of good stuff to say about Nature and religion.

    Like

  3. TR Says:

    I wasn’t sure because “and awakes me to life” reminded me that Easter is the celebration of Jesus’s resurrection. I like that the pipes refer to music as the chimes.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    I think that is the ambiguity of poetry: it can mean different things to different readers, and the poet who writes it isn’t the only interpretation. Yep, I hadn’t thought about Jesus/’awakes me to life’ in that context, but it certainly fits.

    Hugs, Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

