Musings On A Closing Day….

mount fuji, 2

MUSINGS ON A CLOSING DAY

I move my chair
to observe Mt. Fuji-
monstrous perfection
topped with the cooling crust
of spring snows.

Languid movement
of a branch,
like a geisha
unfurling her arm
from a gray kimono,
makes petals fall,
a scented, pink snow
covering my upturned face
with careless kisses.

Timid winds caress
my limbs,
a fleeting relief
to tired bones
brittle now with
a sullen defeat of life.

Raked sand of garden
waves barely disturbed
by feet like two gray stones
as grains flow
round ankles.
I realize once again
I am no obstacle to
the sands of time.

My heart is quieted
by the passage of nothing
for in this nothing
is revealed the fullness of life.

Jane Kohut-Bartels,
copyrighted, 2011, from White Cranes of Heaven, Lulu.com

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Musings On A Closing Day….”

  1. Caliban's Sister Says:

    sigh. what a lovely poem to wake up to, even though it’s about a closing day. There is relief in knowing we are no obstacle to the sands of time, but that those sands are also bits of us. xo CS

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, CS….it seems to be an appropriate poem for this period. thank you for reading and your comment. I like how your thoughts have deepened this poem for me. I learn much more from readers about the inners of a poem…than I an ever know at conception. And that is very comforting to me.

    Hugs, Jane

    Like

  3. Dead Ring Says:

    Really thankfull for sharing your amazingly thoughts with us Cymbal mutes .

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you….came in as spam, but I know these guys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

