“Musings On A Closing Day”

mount fuji, 2

For Peggy, a friend of 45 years….

I move my chair

to observe Mt. Fuji-

monstrous  perfection

topped with the cooling crust

of spring snows.

Languid movement

of a branch,

like a geisha

unfurling her arm

from a gray kimono,

makes petals fall,

a scented, pink snow

covering my upturned face

with careless kisses.

Timid winds caress

my limbs,

a fleeting relief

to tired bones

brittle now with

a sullen defeat of life.

Raked sand of garden

waves barely disturbed

by feet like two gray stones

as grains  flow

round ankles.

I realize once again

I am no obstacle to

the sands of time.

My heart is quieted

by the passage of nothing

for in this nothing

is revealed the fullness of life.

Jane Kohut-Bartels,

copyrighted, 2011, from “White Cranes of Heaven”, published by Lulu.com, 2011

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to ““Musings On A Closing Day””

  1. Victoria C. Slotto Says:

    Jane, this is just gorgeous…very Zen-like. I especially savored the image of the geisha/branches.

    It was so good to see you at my blog–I’ve missed you and your works. And congrats on your poetry book!

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Victoria!~ I’ve missed you, too. I will get around more this fall, had a bad fall this summer and took a while to recover.

    But! I have sincerely missed you, Gay, Brian and a other poets from diverse.

    There is something very alluring about your work. The lyricism, yes, but also there is a ‘completeness’ to what you write. It is soul-satisfying.

    Glad you liked this poem. It’s not new, in fact one of my earlier ones, but since I’ve only been writing poetry for 7 years, I guess they are all relatively new. LOL!

    We learn as we go…but we also learn through the examples of other poets. You are one of those I look to for inspiration.

    Hugs, Jane

    Like

  3. Victoria C. Slotto Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about the fall, Jane. Something like that can throw you for a loop.

    I’ve had about a six week hiatus, too–my husband was in Palm Desert where we had the kitchen remodeled. I knew he took care of the gardening, cooking and shopping but never realized how much it entails! It’s really taken me away from blogging although I am awaiting a proof of my new novel.Spent most of my “free” time editing.

    You stay well, now. I’ll look forward to seeing you around the poetry community.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Victoria! For some reason I missed that you have just finished a new novel. Hard work, that. Congratulations!!

    I will buy it when it’s marketed.

    Hugs,
    Jane

    Like

  5. Caliban's Sister Says:

    love this poem, Jane, and your beautiful creative indomitable spirit. CS

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Hi CS….thank you. Don’t feel too indomitable this week with Chessie dying Monday. Had him for 15 years and he was so tired from the heart disease that was evident by Monday, there was nothing else to do except ease him into sleep. This poem reflects our ability (or at least mine…) to do nothing about life.

    Thank you, CS….sending you the best sentiments.

    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

