Happy Valentine’s Day! “Poem Of My Husband”

fred

POEM OF MY HUSBAND

“You’re all I have”

Heard in the dark

Heart almost stopping

In an inattentive breast.

I dare not look at him

Too bald a sentiment

And too true to bear

A light, comforting answer.

What would occasion such words

Such a piteous sentiment?

When one has lived

Within another’s hours, days, years,

The fabric of this making

Can be frayed.

The warp and weave,

the very thread

That appears as if out of air (and it does.)

becomes substantial, it covers and clothes

more than the body

and the life blood of sentiment, Love-

Becomes the river within, unending,

Even transcending the pulse of life.

“You’re all I have,”

A whispered refrain

That echoes in the heart

And burrows deep.

11_18_3

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2015, this poem published in “Pitcher of Moon” 2014, Createspace/Amazon, by the author.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day! “Poem Of My Husband””

  1. TR Says:

    Both beautiful, the picture of you and the poem. Happy Valentine’s Day! xx

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, TR! That poem was one of the few that was ‘born in the mouth’. And those opening words: “You are all I have” were spoken exactly as written. Some times sentiment goes so deep that there isn’t a bottom to that well. After 30 years the words are shared.

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your husband.

    Love, Jane

    Like

  3. Caliban's Sister Says:

    I love this, Jane. And you and your husband are so beautiful. Happy Valentine’s day to you. love CS

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Darling!

    I’ve seen you and you are even more so. I hope you are well, and the doggies, too…
    Have missed you sorely. Life gets in the way of so much, but what is the alternative, neh?

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you, dearheart!

    Love, Jane

    Like

  5. Caliban's Sister Says:

    Hello kind wise one, I know I go long periods w/o being in touch. Work sucks up time and energy. I can’t access CS email account anymore either. But I read here when I can, you are so gifted, and more importantly, you have a deep heart and mind. love to you. CS

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Your email came at the right time, dearheart. I just finished yelling at my husband who is sitting on the couch watching tv…while I clean up cat shit/prepare for an icestorm/cook stuff to eat without electricity (that should be interesting…cold chili???) and rangle dogs/cats/chickens and stray cats outside. (they have to be fed and sheltered, too.) and still he sits there. Ugh. Marriage.

    I can understand your energies being sapped on a daily basis. Work is a bitch and unrelenting. My life is rather simple as I don’t have a schedule except the one I make for myself, and it’s fraught enough with issues. Trying to rewrite a novel of 7 years ago, and having to go back to research into Celtic stuff is like the Russian army: one step forward, two steps back. And I have no real idea if it will even interest readers…ugh, again. Perhaps I am getting too old, but there seems to be too much sex in these chapters, too. LOL! Or perhaps it’s the weather right now. Who removes clothes when it’s dead of winter and you heat an entire house with one wood stove….

    But any contact with you, CS, is a bright ray of sunshine for me. Your emails might be sparse, but when they come, they lift me up. Friendship and love enduring.

    Love, Jane….he just made the bed so perhaps the yell-fest had some results this am.

    Like

  7. Caliban's Sister Says:

    nothing wrong with a good yelling at from time to time. Esp since it’s no longer Valentine’s Day… 🙂
    xx

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!! Well, you gave me justification then. LOL!

    I’m touchy because we are expecting some sort of winter storm, and we both watch various weather reports and draw different conclusions. He thinks it will be a cold rain, and I am thinking an ice storm. Snow would be nice, but not what Boston has gotten.

    Hope you are snug and warm.

    Love, Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

