JANUS…..and a Happy and Safe New Year.

Image result for Janus

 

This was written many years ago.  I forgot all about it.   It’s called, in literary terms….a ‘quickie’…meaning  a story told in 300 words or less.

Lady Nyo

JANUS

 

Janus, the porter of Heaven, glared down at her. He opened the year and was the guardian deity of the gates. Two heads swiveled towards her, one with a scowl, the other, a glinting compassionate eye.

 

She was tired, now very tired of life and the living—her own state of being and the others around her. She recently felt she hadn’t been born for some reason, was existing as a ghost. She had fallen asleep under a tree, her limbs aching with the efforts of a feeble life.

 

A large branch crashed down upon her.

 

Hence, she found herself now being examined closely by God Janus.

 

“Why are you here?”

 

“I am tired of life.”

 

“Not a good answer. How much have you put to it?”

 

She thought back. She thought of her efforts to find love, to attract a mate and to keep him. Numerous rejections passed before her, heartbreak and sorrow were constant.

 

Janus was not without pity. In a gentler voice, and with that pitying face turned towards her, he spoke.

 

“You have two choices as I see it. You can enter Heaven dragging the burden of your life behind you, but you will always be carrying it about.”

 

“Or”…here Janus swiveled his scowling head and she shrunk back in fear.

 

“As I thought. You are not ready for death, just exhausted by the choices of life. I will choose for you.”

 

She awoke under the tree, the killing limb was back where it belonged, healthy, the sap running through it, restoring life.

 

She looked upwards, through tender buds not yet opened, but full of promise to come.

 

She felt her own sap running like a new river, the ice dam of winter broken, the babble of a new season sounding in her veins.

 

Her name was Spring.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2009-2015

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “JANUS…..and a Happy and Safe New Year.”

  1. Liras Says:

    Profound and surprising. Lady N, you have a way with words.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    You know what, Liras? It surprised me too….when I found it in my documents. 2009…February. Yikes! I had completely forgotten about it, and it was as if I was reading it for the first time. I’ve never stolen a piece, but I hope it’s mine! LOL! Must be, because I had signed it in my documents….and I don’t sign anything I haven’t written. There are markers in there that I recognize…words, phrases that I use…..so I guess I am in the clear.

    Thanks for reading.

    Like

  3. Liras Says:

    Okay, that was the funniest response I have ever gotten from an author.

    I’m sure you are in the clear, too!

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    From your mouth to God’s ear.

    LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Liras Says:

    Be wary, as that sometimes happens. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

