“Let Them Eat Broth”

Mimi Cat August

( Mimi, who is showing one of the benefits of Beef Bone Broth:  joint flexibility.)

 

Beef bone broth, to be exact.

A couple of months ago, I started making broths.  Now, this activity has died down in the modern kitchen.  People are too ‘busy’ to attend to such a thing as bone broth, but a couple of generations ago, almost every kitchen had a pot of slowly simmering broth on the back of gas, electric and wood stoves.  They were the stock for soups, gravies and in certain cultures……medicine.

“Bone Broth will make the Dead rise up and dance.”

An old saying in Argentina.  Checking with my doctor, also in most parts of South America.

Bones are something that people nowadays throw away, or don’t know what to do with them.  But bones have essential minerals inside, besides that lovely marrow.

Actually, they are sometimes pretty hard to find….dem bones.  The internet is full of praises and suggestions for bone broth, but there is also a decided snobbery about bone broth. “Only make bone broth with grass-fed beef bones, not grain fed.”  Well, that is all to the good, but it is hard to find these sort of bones:  In Whole Foods the other day, looking for this, the butcher behind the counter vaguely waved towards a cabinet.  Of course, no bones.  It seems you have to get up pretty early in the morning to get them and then??? You will pay a hefty price for these bones.(no meat, just bones remember)

Since I generally avoid the Church of the Whole Foods, (I’m stealing this bon mot from my friend and fellow blogger, Liras),  I had to find another supply.  A small grocery close to my neighborhood had beef bones.  And they were reasonably priced, too.  They were USDA bones, so if not grass fed, they probably would be ok.  I don’t care now, I am hooked on beef bone broth.

Benefits I am told about Beef Bone Broth: (you can make broth from chicken bones, the carcass of a roast hen, etc., fish bones, lamb but I don’t know about pork bones…I’m sure you can, but I don’t eat pork except in the summertime when we gorge on barbeque ribs)

Heals Leaky Gut:  Apparently it’s a condition that most of us have:  tiny, microscopic holes in the gut, where food leaks out into the body and causes inflammation.

Gelatin: this from the simmered bones:  Cures chronic diarrhea, constipation, other nasty stuff.  If you have enough bones and don’t dilute too much with extra water, when your broth really cools, it sets up as jello.  It’s delicious, too, but just unnerving a bit.

Helps strengthen immune system: with this ready shot of minerals and good stuff you can see why it would.

Stronger Teeth and Bones:  phosphorus, magnesium, calcium.

Joints:  Glucosamine, the same thing we buy for creaky knees, but in a much more absorbable form.  Chondroitin sulfate also prevents osteoarthritis.

And…..it helps in weight loss.  And hydration.  I have never realized how dehydrated I was until I started drinking (at least 4 time a day) this beef bone broth.  Now?  I sleep better, and though this is just me….my A1c has dropped, my cholesterol dropped to normal range, and my blood sugar is pretty normal.  All with drinking this beef bone broth daily.  Sometimes I just don’t want dinner, so I make a good cup of this and it is fine for a meal.

Mileage varies I am sure…..

Beef knuckles, oxtails, chicken necks, creepy chicken feet, all these things can be crammed into a crock pot and simmered for 12-24 hours.  I don’t do anything but beef bone broth, but I will adventure out to do other bones….but not those creepy chicken feet.  I have hens and these packaged feet look too much like folk around here.

So, find dem bones and be prepared to get hooked.  I’ve even given up coffee in the morning.  A nice, hot mug of beef bone broth does wonders for my temperament in the morning.

Recipe:

I bake my beef bones in the oven for about 40 minutes on 350 oven.  Makes them brown and also makes a darker broth, with a deeper flavor.

Cram them in a crockpot, set on low….add two glugs of Apple Cider Vinegar (or lemon juice, or white wine) just to acidify the bones: makes them give up their minerals faster.

cover with water.

I use garlic (rough chopped…with skins) celery, parsley and that is about all.  Onions can make it a bit sour.  Salt and pepper corns.  (a few of them….I had to throw out a pot because I was too liberal with the pepper.)

You can easily make it in a large pot on the back of the stove, but then you can’t leave the house.

My 8 cats and 4 dogs and other stray cats I feed get this on their kibble daily. And, you can give the softened bones to the dogs.  They look good, and I am trying to get my husband to drink this, too.  So far, the dogs are winning over him.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to ““Let Them Eat Broth””

  1. Liras Says:

    Oooh good. Beef marrow and oxtails. No feet. (And no Church service with WH.)

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! ESPECIALLY no Church of the Holy Whole Foods.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liras Says:

    But where will they get their religious fix, if not there?

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Wicca. Definitely Wican. At least the camel. Don’t know about Madame.

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    Wicca. Definitely Wiccan. At least the camel. Madame can’t put down her cards at Faro to attend. Sort of like Trump in her religiosity……

    Like

  6. czbz Says:

    Bone broth. Now we’re cookin’! Boiling dinner bones for hours has made my grocery money stretch for years now. Who knew it was healthy? It was practical and bone broth was cheap and those two reasons were enough to keep me home all day while a variety of bones simmered on the stovetop.

    Your cat looks so contented and healthy…Love the pic!

    p.s. Great idea about roasting the bones for a darker broth and flavor. I never ever thought of that! XOXO CZ

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Yahooo! Another devotee to bone broth! You got it, sister! It’s a great ways to stretch the grocery $$ and with meat so expensive now…..it’s a great way to get protein. I am totally hooked on it. The biggest problem (besides finding the bones….knuckle bones, long bones, etc..) is being patient enough to wait for it to be done before you drink it. LOL!’

    Well, CZ, you were far ahead of the curve! The trend, whatever they call it now. But it is very healthy, and you were tapping into this health thingy without knowing the fuller extent. I have never been a water drinker, and therefore, I have been dehydrated probably my entire life. Coffee dehydrates me, and my skin doesn’t look very good after a pot of coffee. Now? with the bone broth….it looks better. And the results, (especially sleep) are fast coming. A few weeks you start notice some changes (if you do blood work, you see it faster). A few months and you really get hooked.
    Don’t forget the apple cider vinegar…. it starts the leaching process out of the bones.

    Love You!
    Jane
    PS: Mimi is now the ambassador of Bone Broth. She’s showing off in the picture, but she knows she’s cute. Five years ago I found her under a car….at the corner of a very busy main street…just sleeping. She was about 3 months old. She came home with me that day and has been Queen here since. She is quite the card. She certainly wasn’t feral.

    Like

Leave a Reply

