Ode to a Coopers Hawk

Kohut-Bartels-BOP-8

Sea Eagle, Janekohutbartels, wc, 2006

 The world is so full of religious intolerance.  I am also speaking of ‘Christian’ folk whose misogyny can rival the intolerance of Muslim theology. I have experienced first hand this intolerance, from a crazy Baha’i, from ‘Christians’ in my own family, from Muslims, men and women, and from Jews.  Each proclaims their religion as the ‘one, true’ religion.  This brought forth the poem below. 

Come to me.

Come to me,

Winged celestial beauty.

Come to me with your notched

Mermaid tail,

Your silken roll of feathers.

Fly down into my hollowed-out soul,

Fill me with your sun-warmed glory

Nestle in my arms

And bring the curve of the horizon

Embraced in your outstretched wings.

 

I need no white bearded prophet,

No mumbled prayer, no gospel song

No hard church bench, no fast or

Festival to feel close to the Divine.

 

The glory of the universe,

Is embodied in your flight

As you tumble through heavens,

Ride the invisible thermals

Screech with joy at freedom

Fill your lungs with thin air

And play bumper car with an Eagle.

I, earthbound,

No hollowed bones to launch me,

Just tired soul to weigh down,

No soft plumage to feel the course

Of wind through glossy feathers

No hunting call to herald my presence.

 

Still,

My soul takes flight

The breeze lifts my spirit,

My eyes follow you,

And we will find that glory,

Transcend a sullen earth,

Transcend a mean humanity

And soar together into the blue eye of God.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

copyrighted, 2013-16

(This poem was originally published in “Pitcher of Moon” by the author, Createspace, Amazon.com, 2014 

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Ode to a Coopers Hawk”

  1. Sherry Marr Says:

    This is incredibly beautiful. My own tired soul took a swoop or two around the room, reading your words.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Oh, Sherry! I was hoping you would read this. That you did makes my day so much better. I have been fighting with people today, and that is such a depresso. Perhaps our lives would be better served, and the worlds, with poetry. Thank you, dear friend for reading and caring enough to send a comment.

    Like

  3. phoartetry Says:

    Wow wow, powerful emotions expressed, brilliantly written and soul lifting. You are one talented and gifted poet my friend.

    Connie

    Like

  4. Ayala Says:

    Beautiful !

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Ayala! So good to hear from you.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Connie, you are so kind. It’s really a hit and miss situation with poetry, but I have been blessed. Thank you, Connie. I am glad if it lifted your soul. Mine has had need of such for a while. The world is a frightening place right now. Thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Liras Says:

    Amen, Lady N. Amen. (Sorry, couldn’t resist!!)

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! I would expect it from you, Liras. LOL!

    (funny you look in the Amen corner….)

    Lady Nyo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Liras Says:

    Every Lady needs a an ‘amen corner’, yes? *chuckle*

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Yes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

