“Bhava Yoga”

Kohut-Bartels-LS-3

“Dawn Geese”, watercolor, jane Kohut-Bartels, 2006

 

Bhava Yoga

 

Morning’s roseate sky

Has been blasted away,

Branches now whirligigs

Swirl with a fierce southern wind

As windows rattle in frames.

 

A tattered umbrella

Shades from a relentless sun.

I listen to Bhava Yoga

The vibration of Love,

Where imagination meets

Memory in the dark.

Yet surrounding these soothing tones

The world outside this music

Conspires to disrupt, sweep away

All thought, reflection.

 

The fierce wind gets my attention.

I can not deny its primal force.

 

Still, the pulse of Bhava Yoga

Draws me within,

Feeds imagination with memory,

Calls forth something as enduring as the fury outside,

And I feel the pulse of the infinite.

==

We are like birds,

Clinging with dulled claws to

The swaying branches of life.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to ““Bhava Yoga””

  1. phoartetry Says:

    The last verse totally true, yet we must all hold on fiercely and find what is life-giving to our “true self” so to achieve peaceful harmony within, emotional, physically and spiritually.

    Enjoyed not only your poem, but your wonderful watercolor painting.

    Great vibrations Jane.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Connie. For reading and your vibrant comment~

    “True Self”. This is so screwed during different stages of our lives. I think we struggle so mightily with this concept….and we have to ultimately shut out voices that would try to lead us into ‘their’ ways, paths. That is why I have had to remove myself from my family…at least my mother, brothers and sister in laws. They are damned and determined to cookie cutter me into their ‘mold’.

    People who do this, ignore and try to ‘shame’ others into being ‘just like them’ really miss the boat. Harmony and peace within comes not from following others, but with hard work and reflection. People who do as my family does…have no respect for the ‘other’ or for individuals. They want mass submission to their ideology or whatever. And if you don’t…the misogyny is right under the surface. That was /is a slow death to all creativity and intellect. Some people just don’t care, they want ‘quotas’ for their beliefs.
    I call these people who do this to others “emotional sadists” and they are. We have to break the traces…we have to push ourselves sometimes into uncomfortable places. I believe that creativity comes, in part, from our fighting against those who would keep us in little boxes. Unfortunately, many of us….especially women….live in those boxes until it becomes intolerable. Then, we break forth (some of us) and we understand that our creativity leads us to that peaceful harmony within.

    I have never found peace in churches, mass organizations, etc. But I have found peace in picking up the pen and paints. It’s a very internal thing that we fight for.

    Hugs! Jane

    Liked by 1 person

  3. phoartetry Says:

    My brothers and sisters seem to thrive on upheaval of some sort or preach about religion then turn around and create wrongs, but because they are reborn Christians, they’re forgiven…that alone keeps me from churches.

    My peace and spiritual energy comes totally from within. The outside world can definitely create emotional distress in one’s body and mind. Much of my life was waisted, trying to please others or worrying about being that perfect daughter, wife, daughter-in-law, and mother. Finally at 68, I’m free to be me, just Connie, and I like her.

    Always be true to yourself, love yourself for yourself.

    Hugs and smiles Connie

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Oh, Connie….I think we have been leading parallel lives! LOL! Same here…both paragraphs. My brothers are violent Christians….fundamentalists. violent because they ‘hate’ in equal measure…anything that they don’t approve….gays, blacks, etc. And me.

    Years ago, my stupid sisterinlaw came through my house and saw my paintings. There was ONE nude…very modest…and she said this: “When you become a Christian, you will put bathing suits on your nudes.”
    I never forgot that. I also knew that her religion would be the death of me. And the death of any creativity.
    You want to love family, but most in mine are not worth it. The price you pay is too steep. They don’t acknowledge my painting, my music (especially my mother who can’t sing and I could) nor any of my writing. 5 books published and my Bully Christian brother says “I have handlers….I’m not capable of doing this stuff.”

    Well, I sincerely believe that they would rather see me dead than successful. And don’t begin on the mother in law issue. My first one was a society bitch and with the emphasis on bitch.
    It takes hard work to become the artists we both are. And keeping away from the ‘mob’ is just as important. For years, I subjected myself to the mediocre to ‘fit in’,…and I didn’t. It was the path of death and destruction of all that was blooming in me.

    Better to concentrate on our talents, abilities and passions!

    Hugs.

    Well…..you see why I lead a solitary life from family??? And most people. People don’t believe that a woman can transcend one medium for another…music for painting for writing….I believe there are no Chinese walls between abilities…just hard work to learn and to produce.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sherry Marr Says:

    Your closing lines are breathtaking! We are indeed. I love the idea of meditating and beaming peace indoors while the elements rage without – this poor planet needs all the peace we can beam to her, in an effort to help her regain her balance. Loved this one, Jane.

    Like

  6. phoartetry Says:

    It sounds that way.

    Now take my dog, a toy poodle, old now, like myself, she’s been my best friend for the last 14 years : unconditional love, a great listener, plenty of tail wags and wet kisses. Sometimes, I’d rather be around animals than humans. You know what I mean?

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Sherry. When I was just reading your comment, we had a tremendous rain and lightning storm. Lost all power for a while.

    Actually, that poem doesn’t make clear that I was sitting outside, while the power of the wind, weather was roiling around me. LOL!

    Will be over tomorrow to your blog. Thanks again, dear friend.

    Jane

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Oh! Absolutely! People give me hives. LOL! I am not a good ‘people person’. I have found, the older I get, the less patience, sympathy and attention I can give human beings. Now, animals….cats and dogs? They got my total devotion. Your poodle sounds wonderful I had one years ago, Gigi…when I was a vet tech. She was 11, blind and diabetic. Her owners left her to be put down, and I fell in love with her. She used to ride the vacuum cleaner….barking all the way! Great dog…and her blindness didn’t matter a bit. I know what you mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. phoartetry Says:

    🐩

    Like

Leave a Reply

