“Nut”, a choka, posted for dversepoets.com

 

Cover painting for "Pitcher of Moon"

was to be the cover painting for “Pitcher of Moon” but didn’t work out.

 

I am the Temple

of the Universe at night.

I am Goddess Nut

I spread my body over

the dark, silky sky

and the Sun is born from my

open mouth at dawn, each day.

 

 

Invisible Moon

crawls into my bowels at dawn

as does brother Sun

at night when his glory dimmed

and I cradle both

within me their majestic

glory now dulled down

until the release of them

thrown high up into the sky.

 

 

I am the keeper.

All Celestial bodies

I, the nourisher

of life and death that passes

I, Nut, sleep at day

my stars and I well hidden

by the birth of Sun

but courted by Geb, Earth God

who sucks the night dew

from my two breasts with sweet lips

reaching with his maleness

makes the Earth fertile with love

and the universe fruitful.

 

 

I am the River

where planets and stars sail through

on their skyward journey

the celestial travail.

My Houri marks time

passage of cosmic travel

discarding their veils

til naked at dawn, retire

on the horizon.

They sleep once again under

My belly and gathered near.

 

I am the passage

I am the Keeper of Souls

I am mystery.

My presence lends fear to man

I touch eyes with sleep

I round out the universe

dark fulsome Night.

I am Nut.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2014-2016

(from “Pitcher of Moon”, published by Amazon.com, 2014)

917ce-pitcher

Tags: , , ,

23 Responses to ““Nut”, a choka, posted for dversepoets.com”

  1. lillian Says:

    Oh my…..gorgeous image, gorgeous words. So many I loved and most especially this idea:
    “until the release of them
    thrown high up into the sky.’
    This is mythical and magical.

    Like

  2. whimsygizmo Says:

    “and the Sun is born from my

    open mouth at dawn, each day.”

    LOVE this.

    Like

  3. kanzensakura Says:

    I do like this. I am especially fond of “I am” poems. I am the Temple, the Keeper, the River, the Passage. I love how you gave her the persona of Nut. Excellent writing.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    thank you. Nut is a strong character. She strides the Universe.

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    thank you! Mythology is a world full of inspiration.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Lillian. will be over tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Grace Says:

    A beautiful share Jane. This is my favorite part:

    I am the passage

    I am the Keeper of Souls

    I am mystery.

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Grace! I like those lines, too. Will be over tomorrow…eyes closing right now. Thanks.

    Like

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    What a wonderful set of images you draw from that wonderful nut that reigns the night… Really love this Jane.

    Like

  10. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa) Says:

    Gorgeous write, Jane ❤

    Like

  11. georgeplace2013 Says:

    I am the Temple
    of the Universe at night… the whole beautiful poem – wow

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Sanna…thank you! I don’t have a twitter account, so I don’t know how to get to you. But I am reading your verse.
    Jane

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Bjorn…..I don’t know if I could write this again…it was a few years ago….things change and energy changes….but thank you very much. dverse seems to be a good, tight group.

    Like

  14. Kathy Reed Says:

    I love the watercolor painting above your beautiful description of who and what the moon is. It is indeed a multi-sided mystery!

    Like

  15. Sherry Marr Says:

    Such gorgeous imagery in this poem. A pleasure to read. Your painting is beautiful too, as is the cover of your book. Wow, you are Talented!

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Sherry! This poem needs tweezers…some goat hairs on it’s chin….but I don’t think I could write this again. You understand. Poetry is a fickle mistress, comes and goes. Thank you so much, Sweetie!

    Like

  17. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Kathy. My reference to the moon in this poem is rather sparse. I am reading so many poems on d’verse that pin it. Lovely works from serious poets. Thank you…and that watercolor was nixed by my formatter who thought it was…’messy’?? My pix of it was out of focus….as was the painting….LOL! But glad you liked.

    Like

  18. Bodhirose Says:

    What an incredible story you have written here on the Goddess Nut, Jane. I had to look up this ‘Nut’ and I learned she is a most auspicious creation of mythology. Excellent work…so enjoyed this!

    Like

  19. Bodhirose Says:

    Oh, and forgot to say that I love the Choka form that you used and was thinking of having us all learn/write one when I do my next Form For All.

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Gayle. Ithink that is one of the few chokas I have written. It came into fashion in the 7th century or before and then went out when tanka was discovered. LOL! But I had to count the syllables in each line to convince myself it was choka. Hopefully, it was beyond the syllable issue.

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you. I had to research her out myself when I wrote this poem. I’m not good on specific mythology, and she was one. So glad you enjoyed this poem.

    Like

  22. lucychili Says:

    Love this:

    “I round out the universe

    dark fulsome Night.

    I am Nut.”

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you for reading and your comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

