Fall Haiku and a few Tanka thrown in.

 My beautiful picture

These last few weeks have been stressful.  Friends, poets and writers, came and gave great comfort and succor.  This situation with Jingle Bells threw me. I felt violated. I think friend’s empathy is reflected in their poetry.  This situation has gone to Google/Blogger legal department and they jumped on it fast.  I am grateful  for their work on  this troubling matter. But more, I am grateful for those friends, poets and others, who helped me through this unnerving time. You know who you are, and you have my  deepest gratitude.

Lady Nyo

Haiku  (maybe…these were written before more serious study.)

1.-

Under a dark moon

I awaited your return.

Only shadows came.

 

2.

The light falling snow

Envelops the heart and earth

Better to forget.

 

3.

Tips of trees bursting

Into the sun, while the dark

Earth claims the bottom.

 

4.

There is nothing there

Except the scream of the wind.

Dogs afraid to howl.

 

5.

Skeleton-trees wave

While the wind whips dead leaves

Wood smoke scents the air.

 

6.

The moon, a ghostly

Sliver, sails on a jet sea

The wind sings laments.

 

7.

A pendulum heart

Beats the cadence of a life,

Trips, sputters, and dies..

 

8.

Pale lavender sky

Balances the moon and sun

The scale shifts to night.

 

9.

The koi are hungry.

Orange mouths gulp green water.

Good the algae grows.

 

10.

Spring robins watch

Quarrelsome beasts these birds!

They don’t share the worms

 

11.

Half submerged eyes

Of frogs in algae filled pond

Reflect cloudy moon.

 

12.

Swifts- dark crescent moons

Sickles cutting through the dusk

Tag  slower bats.

 

Some Tanka….

 1.

The moon floats on wisps

Of clouds extending outward.

Tendrils of white fire

Blanketing the universe

Gauzy ghosts of nothingness.

 

2.

I shall not brush locks

That obscure my face and mouth

Where I felt strong hands

Of my lover displacing

My sharp disdain with his lust.

 

3.

Reason for awe can be found

In familiar sights.

Intimacy at the core—

Astounding revelation!

4.

How could I forget

The beauty of the pale moon!

A face of sorrow

Growing thin upon the tide

Pulls my heart within its light.

5.

Rain and moon tonight

Created confusion

Moon hides behind clouds

Fleeting clouds filter the rain

Moon appears– shoots silver darts.

6.

When I saw your head

Upon the pillow we shared

Was this forever?

I am left with a pillow

That holds a ghost in the down.

7.

Autumn wind startles–

Lowered to an ominous Key—

Ah! Mournful sounds!

The fat mountain deer listen-

Add their bellowing sorrow.

8.

Answering echo-

One heart calls to another

A plucked string vibrates

The poetry of lovers

Kisses the roof of heaven!

 —

Jane Kohut-Bartels
Copyrighted, 2016

And the usual warning:

An email from Jingle Nozelar Yan (JP at Olive Grove ):

“when you post on word press or blogger, you do not have to pay or ask permission in person. which is what we count for.”

Every poet and poetry group I frequent would find that surprising.  There are Copyright Laws in the US,  Jingle. Even in China. But bless your little  heart.

Please  don’t read my work on her site. If you care about literature, you will go to the original source and bypass Jingle Bells.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

