After Harvest Song

0403Whe-R01-009

Marsh Geese, watercolor, Jane Kohut-Bartels, 2007

 

This waning autumn season,

That burst upon the mindscape

Hijacked a summer landscape,

Dared mingle dazzling elements

Of color, odors, tangled undergrowth,

Where things are lost in each other

And plausible limits vanish.

 

And with the passage of these days

The Earth transformed in scarcity,

A stretching silence,

A gathering solitude

Where Pan’s pipes are brittle straw

Made golden, hollow by harvest.

 

Come celebrate this solitude

Rejoice with me in silence

Where time warps

And darkness gathers,

Where mystery is beckoned

By hoar frost and shadows.

All color now corralled

Like old dun horses

Barely moving against the grey of day.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

Tags: , ,

17 Responses to “After Harvest Song”

  1. kim881 Says:

    I love the watercolour, Jane, which the poem expresses in words of muted shades. I like the gentleness of the interspersed rhyme and the pace of this poem, also conveyed in the lines:.
    ‘A stretching silence,
    A gathering solitude’
    and
    ‘Where time warps
    And darkness gathers,
    Where mystery is beckoned
    By hoar frost and shadows’
    and those old dun horses ‘Barely moving against the grey of day’

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Kim….I like your analysis of the poem….and also that you noticed the painting. Most people don’t. Thanks again….I’ll be over today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mother wintermoon Says:

    Serene and gorgeous painting, accompanied by your equally serene and gorgeous words. I am rejoicing with you! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you Mother Wintermoon. It seems to have bombed with the usual crowd…but the next post is much more important. “STRIPY FOR PRESIDENT”…..LOL!

    Like

  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    This is wonderful.. the way coraling of colors.. that thought, like fistful full of grey… yes so much of fall is that condensation of a water color.

    Like

  6. mother wintermoon Says:

    😃 Go for it! Wheee! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Bjorn. I thought perhaps this poem bombed. People are slow to read and perhaps it’s depressing? But weather and climate can be depressing. the barometer critically affects my mood and temperament. LOL! But…..with the absence of leaves and color….I feel a quietude…and a gathering of purpose in both painting and poetry. It’s that ‘clean blank palette’ effect. Thank you so much for reading and your kind comment. It goes far today.

    Like

  8. Grace Says:

    Beautiful painting and I love the celebration of solitude, even during the waning days of autumn.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Grace. I deeply appreciate your reading and comment. I wasn’t too sure of this poem….sounded so depressive. I’m going to try to do more painting and less poetry this fall.

    Like

  10. phoartetry Says:

    Woke up early this morning to autumn rain, how wonderful, hubby sleeping soundly and dog Daphne snuggled in folds of the blanket, I thought, wow, a great time to catch-up on my friends blogs.

    Jane your poem is quite beautiful and your watercolor lovely.

    I’ve been busy taking care of my better half. He had his total knee replacement September 30th. It has been a whirlwind of commotions in our house between nurses, therapist, house cleaners, and trying to keep my dog from being stepped on, I thought I was going to go crazy.

    Today he starts therapy at the hospital which will be wonderful, it’ll give a little free time (45 minutes) to breathe slower and put my feet up,

    Gotta go for now, I hear his walker and the dog barking. I will stop by later and read more of your blogs

    Hugs and warm smiles

    Connie

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ladynyo Says:

    Hello Connie! Yesterday I was thinking of you and wanted to write and see how you were doing! I hadn’t forgotten you and knew that you also were recovering from your recent surgery. Hope you are ok and without a lot of pain. Now…you are taking care of your husband?? That knee replacement is serious stuff….and I hope you both are recovering. Thank you so much, dear heart for stopping by. Hope to see you back on the trail soon! Hugs from here.

    Like

  12. phoartetry Says:

    Doing better, not in as much pain. I’ve never been on this side of caregiving, usually I’m the recovery-ist, lol. I ask myself, “Was I this grouchy an uncooperative or is it he’s a man? ”

    Exhausting work!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Both! Men are HORRIBLE when you try to nurse them. Universally. It’s a awful task for the nursing side. They are grouchy, uncooperative, ungrateful, snotty, and can be abusive. I think it’s because they don’t like at all being at the ‘mercy’ of someone else…especially their wives. It goes against the grain of their ego. Been there, it’s a universal problem, Connie. My husband has the sweetest disposition….UNTIL he;’s sick and then???? He can have a very sore throat but shouts at me. Event he dogs and cats avoid him..So, just hang in there and slip him a little arsenic when it gets too much. You are not alone. They seem to enjoy abusing the one who at least stays around and cares. Hugs!

    Like

  14. phoartetry Says:

    Deep sigh!

    Warm smiles and hugs

    Like

  15. ladynyo Says:

    When I said “both” I was wrong….I didn’t mean to cast blame on you. Men are idiots. It’s worse when they are sick or invalid. It’s an ego thing, Connie…it has to be. Their ego is very fragile, and this is their reason for their very annoying behavior. You are wonderful for doing what you are doing. I would take a bat to my husband….but the arsenic works….but too slowly. LOL! Perhaps getting him a male nurse that is a brute. That might work in your favor. Blessings, dear heart. You have a double barreled issue right now with hubbie and your mom.

    Like

  16. phoartetry Says:

    Jane, I didn’t take it as you cast blame on me. Men in general have these big egos, and when they become ill or have pain they become little angry, helpless boys.

    My husband is now walking with a cane , still in pain. Thank goodness, at least he’s up doing little things for himself now.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. ladynyo Says:

    Yes! Thanks a blessing. I have reoccurring sciatica …and suffered for 30 years….still suffering. Recently, my husband bought a “Teeter” that monster thing on tv….I was really apprehensive about it…I can be crippled for weeks…but I am using it…sparingly…and it’s amazing. I can get on it and off in a few minutes, and walk. A miracle. I had back surgery in the early 80’s way too young for this, but it worked. Now>? I need either this teeter or a chiropractor. I hope your husband continues to recover….and yes, men in pain become little, angry, helpless boys. I have to say that I am surly when I am in pain, but I think women don’t have some of the same approaches to pain that men have. I think they are totally floored with pain. Helpless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

