“Bob Dylan and Me”

Children playing in a field

Bob Dylan and Me

 

Fifteen and not cool.

Parents off fighting

The war called marriage.

We kids on the battlefield

Carrying water to each side.

 

High school, all four years

Of it brutal.

Sadistic teachers who should

Have been gone, but hung on.

Mr. Martin’s rubber nose

shot off in the war

the only thing good about

geometry.

 

It was the times of Commies

Dropping bombs on our baseball fields

(we hoped…)

The time of ‘squat and hug your knees’

All good training for life to come.

 

Gloria, an outcast for her pimples

A kindred spirit

Got tickets to a ‘real New York folk singer’

Said the wall posters, blowing in the wind.

 

So we primped,

And curled our hair into flips,

Wore best Sunday dresses

Because we weren’t cool.

 

The name of the folk singer

Meant nothing to us

We were too young,

Too wet behind the ears

To know what was ‘too cool’.

 

They took one look

And some wit decided

We were a kink backdrop

And put us on stage behind

The

“New York Folk Singer”

A skinny kid,

With messy hair

Playing a guitar.

With faded blue jeans

That fell off his hips.

 

 

We were right behind him,

Our ankles crossed

Our hands in our laps

Looking at his shapeless ass.

 

Drunken boys from Princeton

Yelled rudely:

“Hey, Bobbie! Play Blowin’ in the Wind”.

“Hey, Bobbie! Get some singing lessons!”

More than a few beer cans were thrown on the stage,

While we kept on smiling and nodding

And Bobbie kept turning, mystified

At the two white clad girls

Who shouldn’t be there.

 

I didn’t know the word then,

But if I had to guess,

His mouth formed “WTF”

At the chaos out front

And the aliens behind.

 

Each time he would turn

We would smile and clap–

He would bow.

A private performance

For two virgins in white.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

Tags: , , ,

32 Responses to ““Bob Dylan and Me””

  1. Grace Says:

    Wow that is some experience Jane ~ Who could have guessed he started out this way ~ I hope you enjoyed the private performance, smiles ~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kanzensakura Says:

    Love the humor in this. Yes, he was a WTF kind of poet.

    Like

  3. Bodhirose Says:

    Oh my gosh…what a story, Jane! For real?

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! I just liked tormenting my parents with his music. Both of them were classically trained musicians and I was at Westminster Choir College in Princeton…so it was funny. Thank you, Toni for reading….he was as icon back then, but I think there are better icons …

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Hi Grace….I was too young (14???) and stupid to fully realize the moment. LOL! Thank you for reading and your comment….I’m posting my comment here tomorrow of your offering. That way I don’t pull my hair out. I love your work, and it is agony when my blog won’t play with yours…..Just saying.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    yep….for real. I was in Princeton HS, and McCarter Theater was down the road at Princeton University. I was all of 14 I think. I ‘lifted’ it out of “Bob Dylan and Me” from Memories of a Rotten Childhood….a memoir I have been writing for about 10 years. Can’t publish it until all in there are dead. LOL! Thank you for reading and your comment.

    Like

  7. Sherry Marr Says:

    What a SPECTACULAR story this is. You knew him when……..Wow!

    Like

  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    What a wonderful story, and how much it tells you about the times not a-changing… the surreal craze of you sitting there behind the stage…

    Like

  9. kim881 Says:

    This is a great story, Jane. I’d love to read your memoir!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ladynyo Says:

    HI Kim….thank you! So would I….it’s 10 years in the writing and it’s the last thing that is gotten to in my life. I have lots of stories in it but mostly it’s a venture of discovery. Thank you for reading and your encouraging comment, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sanaa Rizvi Says:

    I love the sparkling humor and wit in this poem 💖

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Yeah, Bjorn. The more things change, the more they stay the same. I wish at the time (14) I had appreciated who Bob Dylan was, but I hadn’t a clue. AFTER….only then….did I start to realize that he would be a great annoyer in the fight to irritate my parents, who deserved it. LOL! Later, I went to Tom Rush concerts in NYC, and since my brothers were bluegrass musicians…..met lots of folk from that medium. Flat and Scruggs, Doc Watson, etc.

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    I liked watching for Mr. Martin’s nose to fall off. LOL! Thank you, Sanaa for reading and your comment. Hugs!

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Yep, but didn’t really know who he was. He was just this skinny folk singer very early in the scene. But he was polite to Gloria and I, sitting behind him in our white dresses. LOL! What was going on up front with all the beer cans being thrown and the drunken frat boys was shocking to us then. Now?? Small potatoes….LOL! Thanks, Sherry.

    Like

  15. Brian Says:

    I am amazed at your life story. Thanks for writing this and for your comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Cassandra LaChase Says:

    Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. lillian Says:

    What a story!! Wow!!! And, I’m smiling here, I remember setting my hair on big rollers, putting a ping plastic “dryer bonnet” on my head that had a hose coming out the back to the dryer from whence it got its hot air — the whole thing having a rather short electrical chord which precluded anything but sitting in one place — and yes, all to get that “flip” hairstyle!! LOL great memories coming back with this one — from the teachers to those pimple-days.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. ladynyo Says:

    Yeah….those teachers. The Latin teachers were older than God. And meaner. Much meaner. LOL! Yep, those curling/drying bonnets. They are still used in the South…in salons. Yikes! Thanks, Lillian…I’m slow today and probably will read around tomorrow morning: an encounter with a copperhead here. It was being harassed by three of my dogs….and I spent the day clearing out what probably is her lair. She (he?) went through the fence, but my neighbors have a much cleaner back yard than we do. Not piles of branches and leaves. She’s be back. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Darling Niece! So good of you to read this here. And how is my beautiful baby of yours???? Love to all of you down there and having escaped the hurricane. Not like NC where Christopher lives. Ugh. Right near the ocean. He said last week that there were possibly 100 people dead in NC because so many didn’t or couldn’t evacuate because of isolation and age….and he wondered why the Nat. Guard/ Humvees/troop transport, etc….were coming in through Colombia. Sad, sad, sad. Saw on TV last night puppies sent to Atlanta Shelters…..beautiful blue tick hounds, more hounds, so beautiful! I have four dogs as you know, but I would take in another one.

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Don’t be amazed, Brian. Comes with age. Thank you for reading and your comments, too. Next week I will post the essay I wrote that this poem comes from. The poem was harder than I thought it would be. Thanks, friend.

    Like

  21. ladynyo Says:

    For Grace: Your Dylan poem for the prompt: As good as the original to me, maybe better. I can relate to it.

    Like

  22. Victoria C. Slotto Says:

    What a delight. I would have been right up there with you. Wonder how the losers who tossed cans on stage feel now. I loved this.

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    drunken frat boys. 1963. Probably don’t even remember. LOL! Thanks, Victoria.

    Like

  24. mother wintermoon Says:

    This is fantastic! I was right there with you. Your wit and the look back in time hit all the right chords. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Sweetie! I just wish I could have appreciated him then…only later when rebellion against parent’s music did I listen to him….and actually started to grow up. Those were troubling times and now? They look a lot better than what we face now. Thank you for reading and your comment.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. mother wintermoon Says:

    Unbelievably, we’re regressing at a rapid rate!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. ladynyo Says:

    I think so…

    Liked by 1 person

  28. mother wintermoon Says:

    Sad state of affairs. Hopefully we can only go up from here?

    Like

  29. ZQ Says:

    Hahaha… playing in one of my favorite taverns, some guy gets up and starts play this awful harmonica in my face pushing me off the mic. Big steve playing next to me, starts playing one string getting ready to hit him with his guitar, but, he went back to his seat and passed out. That’s when we learned “Hecklers” are customers. 🙂
    Thanks for reminding me of all this… no cash, drinks are free 🙂
    ZQ

    Liked by 1 person

  30. ladynyo Says:

    We better.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. lillian Says:

    Ugh indeed. A copperhead…….that’s scarey in the real world….read my post today…instead of fruit I should have used the copperhead snake!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. ladynyo Says:

    Read it! Ah..indeed….scary world, indeed. A orange snake on one side and a woman who has a public policy and private policy. What can you trust? Neither. That’s why I’m voting for Stripy….a stray cat that I have been travelling two blocks for a year to feed. Stripy is an honest cat. Better to believe in than these two criminals. .

    Like

Leave a Reply

