“In the garden at dawn”

 

Garden July 1

( I am not a neat gardener.  With the present drought, any fall garden is lost here.)

Right before this Super Moon was this grinning moon low in the eastern sky.  I was outside, looking for a cat and the moon was so close and intense.  It stuck in my mind better than this Super Moon.  Was more personal.

 

In the Garden at Dawn

=

 

Dawn moon appears

Low in the eastern sky

Like an idiot’s grin

From cheek to cheek

A glow so intense

It startles the eye.

 

My hands deep in soil

Planting tender shoots of life

With reverence that feeds the soul

As seedlings feed flesh later to come.

 

There is God in this black soil

Earthworms and tiny bits of life

Independent of will or wishes.

Moonbeams spill on this tilled earth

Like a benediction or blessing

And bathes plants and planter with expectation,

Promise.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

Tags: , ,

24 Responses to ““In the garden at dawn””

  1. Brian Says:

    A bountiful urban jungle. I have found that life sprouts no matter what we do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Yup….and even a mere 1/4 acre is a lot of soil to cultivate….garden or not.

    Like

  3. whimsygizmo Says:

    The moon “like an idiot’s grin”? Are you kiddin’ me with this? FANTASTIC.

    Like

  4. Grace Says:

    My garden is neglected too ~ Love this line: There is God in this black soil, and the whole ending stanza of expectations and bounty from the earth ~

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! I wondered, for a few seconds if I would get criticism for using the word ‘idiot’. Then I decided WTF. Actually, that moon DID scare me….it was so close to me that I jumped. LOL! Hanging right over the trees. Too close for comfort. Thank you for reading and your encouraging comment!

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Grace. Oh woe!!! The garden looks like a dust bowl….no rain in two months!!! I feel closer to a God I never really trusted in the garden than anywhere else. Fundamentalist siblings have put a bad spin on this sort of spirituality for me. I guess I have to go into the soil to find any faith.

    Like

  7. Waltermarks Says:

    Your poetry gave me great expectation, i’m ready for veggies. your description of the moon makes me wonder if it wasn’t the Cheshire Cat in disguise.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kim881 Says:

    I found it, Jane! No problem! I love the title – best place to be in the morning – and those opening lines are superb – made me smile! I also love ‘reverence that feeds the soul’ and
    ‘Moonbeams spill on this tilled earth
    Like a benediction or blessing’
    the alliteration foregrounds those important words beautifully.I like the way the final word stands alone – doing what says – promise.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Kim! That’s a lovely analysis of this short poem. Sometimes, actually most times….I just put myself into a sort of trance…hyperarousal trance something I learned a long time ago in belly dance…and the words just congregate. “Reverence that feeds the soul” is probably something that consciously I wouldn’t stumble upon. I believe you know what I am talking about. Thank you, again Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Oh, could be. I had a cat for 15 years that I had to put to sleep a year ago. Named Chessie after the Cheshire Cat…he would pose as such. He wandered into our front lawn and stayed and he was the most wonderful cat ever. I miss him dearly. Planted him in the veggie garden under a climbing Madame A. Carriere rose bush. No veggies this fall…a horrible drought here of two months with wild fire smoke from the mountain wild fires 60 miles away. Can’t go out long. Thanks, Waltermarks….And yes, that moon looked like the Cheshire Cat…Grinning so huge!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. kim881 Says:

    I’ve never tried belly dancing but imagine it must have the same effect as other forms of dance and yoga.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. ladynyo Says:

    You are right….but it’s very vigorous. The knees are first to go. LOL! (not really funny)…but this hyperarousal trance thing isn’t sexual. I’ve fought with people who should know better. They dismiss HT as a sex/internet thing. Fools. It’s something that most belly dancers fall into….it’s a trance issue …theta brain wave stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    Oh love an unkempt garden.. as long as there is some soil to plant those little extra things… ours is mostly woodland, so we keep flowers potted mostly… There has to be a balance between work and reward.

    Like

  14. Waltermarks Says:

    Thanks Ladymo, our cat’s 16. I don’t think she would grow veggies if we planted her, probably something more like skunk cabbage. She’s a stinker. 😠

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! They ALL are stinkers. My oldest came out of dogwood tree and lived to be 20. Tobie. A marvelous cat, jet black with orange eyes. He grew to 22 lbs. Ugh. We had to finally put him to sleep because his kidneys weren’t working. The best cat I ever had, but then they are all ‘best’.

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you for reading, Bjorn.

    Like

  17. katiemiafrederick Says:

    It’s hard
    to destroy
    people and the
    living earth and
    all the other animals
    too when one can finAlly
    see that
    God
    is dirt..
    and no
    not just Adam alone..
    A Garden of Love isREaL..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  18. ladynyo Says:

    Yes, God is dirt. Or in the dirt. Same difference to me. Something tangible. Thank you, KMF.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. katiemiafrederick Says:

    Welcome.. ladynyo.. interestingly..
    the first Middle Eastern words
    for God mean Earth and water
    as a mix of silt.. yeS anD is real
    God.. after
    that sadly
    IT eventually
    moved away
    from an Isreal
    Indigenous people’s
    God that one experiences
    as verb.. in yes.. A tangible way
    not unlike Yoda who can feel
    this Force in all things now..
    iN real feelings
    and senses
    now and not just
    empty shells of words..
    anyWay.. the world would be
    a much nicer place if all respected
    the entire blanket of life and existence
    as God rather than rather empty words
    in books that lead to mostly separation and
    division.. more likely saving life on the planet
    as well as
    a bonus
    benefit too..:)

    Like

  20. ladynyo Says:

    Agreed. thank you again for reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Mark Says:

    There comes a time in reading a poem when you stop saying, “Oh, that’s a great line,” and start saying, “That’s a great poem.”

    Liked by 1 person

  22. ladynyo Says:

    Mark….that is so kind of you. I could live off your comment for a month!. Thank you dearly.

    Like

  23. phoartetry Says:

    A beautiful and reflective poem Jane.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Connie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

