“A Mourning Dove Cries”…Tanka for Carpe Diem Haiku Kai.

Image result for mourning doves
(wild delight.com)
Prompt: loneliness

A mourning dove cries

It is such a mournful sound

Perhaps a fierce owl

Has made her a widow.

Oh! It breaks my heart, her cry.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

copyrighted, 2016

 

Tags: ,

7 Responses to ““A Mourning Dove Cries”…Tanka for Carpe Diem Haiku Kai.”

  1. Sherry Marr Says:

    We have mourning doves in our yard, too – so gently and beautiful. I loved this.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Sherry. I missed the mourning doves this summer because of the heat and mosquitos. Just didn’t go outside except for chicken/dog/cat chores. I am hoping this fall..though it is just cooling down and we still have mosquitos…to sit outside more. It’s a dust bowl here with a 2 month old drought and we are now told that any rain will be very slight for the next few months…maybe til Xmas. Yikes!!!!

    Horrible and tremendous wild fires to the north of us….north ga. and tenn. and especially north Carolina…and the smoke has come down to Atlanta. People are told to wear masks if they are sensitive to particulates….but the masks don’t help with the tiny particulates.

    I’m hoping to sit outside and listen to the doves and the owls…they, especially, frightened me one night. I ran into the chicken coop with the chickens and stood there with a rake. LOL! They were little wood owls, but very loud and threatening. They sounds like aliens. I had never heard an owl so upclose. There were two of them….LOL! Thank you for reading and your comment.

    Like

  3. phoartetry Says:

    Every summer doves frequently resides in our backyard, and one thing that comes to my mind, in watching them are their delicate nature. Their pretty pink feet are the culmination and epitome of all daintiness. Such a peaceful and enchanted creature, even their song, for me, has a meditative tone to it.

    Thank you for sharing your tanka.

    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Connie! First, thank you for reading this and sending a comment. Yes! Their pretty pink feet are so delicate! Like ballet slippers. Their Quaker gray coats seem to lend into their personalities. LOL!~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. phoartetry Says:

    👍😁

    Like

  6. Chèvrefeuille Says:

    Welcome at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai Lady Nyo. What a wonderful tanka you have shared here with us. I can feel the loneliness of the dove …

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Chevrefeuille. I am very glad to be at your site. I love tanka but have lost my way with them. I am very glad to be able to study the different techniques. I remember an old (10th century??) document that basically spoke of these things. I didn’t attend to it deeply enough. Am honored you liked the dove tanka.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

