A tanka for Carpe Diem Haiku Kai….

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

(above…the sky to the east)

Prompt: Depression

This grim November

 Month of my dear father’s death

Always bittersweet.

Memories float, weakened ghosts

Hauntings in the fog of life.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “A tanka for Carpe Diem Haiku Kai….”

  1. Cheryl-Lynn Says:

    Very nice and heartfelt tanka. Bittersweet are the memories of our parents passing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Morgan Says:

    beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladynyo Says:

    thank you, Morgan!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ladynyo Says:

    And thank you, Cheryl-Lynn.

    Like

  5. hypercryptical Says:

    A beautiful if sad tribute to your father.

    Weakened ghosts – I understand that.

    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Anna. He died Nov. 5th, 1989, but it still stings. he was a man of few words but the parent I knew loved me. I was his first child and his only daughter. A special bond though I didn’t realize this until his death.

    Like

  7. hypercryptical Says:

    My mother was so easy to love. I loved my father too, but more remotely, for as kind as he was, he had little words too.
    It is my everlasting regret, my everlasting guilt that I did not tell him I loved him whilst he was in the process of dying, but I didn’t realise he was.
    Although I don’t believe in the concept of Heaven myself, I do so hope, for him, that it exists for he truly deserves to be there.
    Often, when seeing the great expanse of a clear sky at dusk, I picture him in the Heavens offering me forgiveness.
    I learned from this experience (of words unsaid) and those I love know this very well.

    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Anna…how beautifully you write of your dear father. I also didn’t tell my father when he died because it was so sudden. But love and forgiveness is a river if we are ready to step in. Thank you for this. With love, Jane

    Like

  9. Chèvrefeuille Says:

    I can feel the emotions in this tanka. My dad passed away last March 2016

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

