Tanka: “Crows Laugh” , for Carpe Diem Haiku kai

Image result for Crows

(King of Wallpaper.com)

 

The prompt over at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai is based on Basho’s haiku on crows.

On a bare branch

A crow lands

Autumn dusk

Mine is a Tanka on crows.

=

I wander the fields

Barren soil covered with snow

Sharp wind pipes of Pan

A murder of crows huddle

Black laughing fruit crowd bare limbs

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Tanka: “Crows Laugh” , for Carpe Diem Haiku kai”

  1. Mother Willow Says:

    What beautiful tanka.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Helene. I’m out of touch with tanka so I was flying by the seat of my pants. Thank you so much for reading and leaving a kind comment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brian Says:

    I sense the narrator is a ghost, perhaps a soldier wandering the battlefield.

    Like

  4. Sherry Marr Says:

    I love poems with crows in them, wrote one myself this morning. Smiles.

    Like

  5. ladynyo Says:

    oh! I’ll look for it! Hugs!

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Works for me. That’s what I love about poetry…it can expand to express a different origin. Thanks, Brian, that gives a lot more interest to this tanka. Crows in Japanese literature/culture have a special place.

    Jane

    Like

  7. phoartetry Says:

    Few birds capture my attention as do crows during winter. Maybe it’s because their solid black forms stand out against winter’s bare bones within the weakened sunlight. And I love how you reference the wind’s acoustic sound as pan piped, giving your tanka a hauntingly undertone. Nicely written Jane.

    I hope you had a blessed Thanksgiving with your husband and son as well as you fur and feathered-friends.

    Hugs

    Connie

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you so much, Connie. And to you, too. Just husband and I….son couldn’t come down but will try at Xmas. And yours? The fur and feather friends all got Turkey…well,, the feathered friends got greens. They got a whole raw cabbage,…a large one. 8 hens and one rooster made mince meat of that cabbage in short work! Thank you Connie….sending love and good wishes to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

