Hungarian Comfort Foods… Chicken Paprikas

This recipe dedicated to my dear friend, Nick Nicholson in Canberra, Australia.  He likes good food, too.

Image result for chicken paprikash

 

I’ve been thinking about this for a little while.  I love to cook and I love to eat, but I also love to simplify recipes.  Does it seem strange for recipes to find their way to a poetry website?  Well, “If music be the food of love”…..why can’t poetry?

So, for a while I am going to post recipes I like and make on this blog.  There will be poetry and commentary a-plenty….but this is the season of food-mood.  Hope you enjoy and try out these recipes.  They are adaptions of classical recipes and are good enough to eat.

Lady Nyo

People make this classic dish in different ways, but I learned early what I liked and didn’t.  Some add tomatoes and flour…maybe even some Hungarians….but I don’t.  The key element here are three things:  Real Hungarian Sweet Paprika,  which now can be had at most grocery stores.  The red/white and green tin.  There is also a Hot Paprika, but don’t use that.  I have had a tin in my cupboard for about 10 years, and it is still too hot.

The second element is easy: use chicken with bones….chicken thighs and drumsticks work well.  They give a lot more flavor to the recipe than boned, skinless chicken breasts.

The third element:  full fat Sour Cream.  The no fat gives no flavor.

The colors of Hungary are white/red/green.  Red for paprika, green for parsley, white for the noodles.

Cut up one or two yellow onions, a few cloves of garlic (I only use two) and sauté until weeping for their lives.  Add chicken, and let sauté with the onions/garlic for a few minutes, turning.  You don’t have to brown chicken.

Broth: For two years now, I have kept a crockpot full of beef bones….knuckles, cut femurs, and covered with water and a bulb of garlic (cut up roughly) and a good glug of Apple Cider Vinegar.   Celery can be added (one stick) and let the blessed crockpot do it’s job.  About 20 hours of low simmer.  The house will smell so rich with the broth.  I also bake the bones for about 45 minutes before using them in the crock pot.  Makes a richer broth.

Add 3 cups of broth and simmer for about 45 minutes until the meat falls off the bones. (you can save the bones later for chicken broth…)

Add more broth if it cooks away the juice.

Add 4 tablespoons of Hungarian Paprika to broth, early.

Add a chopped handful of parsley.

 

Some add flour to sour cream.  I don’t, but I might try it to thicken the stew, for this is really what you are making: chicken stew…sort of.

I add about 1 and a half cups of sour cream….reduce heat to simmer….and add more paprika if you want.  Salt and pepper.

I boil egg noodles, but better cooks make spätzle, a homegrown dumpling.  Not a lot of work, actually.  Butter the noodles well after boiling.

Some cover a serving dish with the noodles and ladle on the chicken stew.  I just dump the drained noodles into the chicken and gently blend.

I add a squeeze of lemon just to brighten this.  This Chicken Paprikas tastes even better the next day, but put it in the fridge.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016…if anyone can actually copyright an ancient recipe!

 

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Hungarian Comfort Foods… Chicken Paprikas”

  1. kanzensakura Says:

    Good recipe. I actually posted chicken paprikash a couple of years ago…

    Like

  2. Sherry Marr Says:

    This does sound really good, Jane.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladynyo Says:

    Well, you are a good cook. I would love to see how your dish is different than mine.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Sweetie! It’s easy and one of my favorite dishes…and better the next day, too.LOL! When I was single I made and ate it all week….it actually gets better each day. Hope you are well, and I think of you every day. Love.

    Like

  5. kanzensakura Says:

    Probably more similar than you would think. I got it from an non-English speaking grandmother who migrated over here in the 1940’s with her gaggle of kids.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Wow…1940’s. Must have been a war refugee?

    Like

  7. kanzensakura Says:

    Yeppers. One of the older sister still freaked when a plane flew overhead, when I knew her in 1057

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Yep, 1057 was a badddd year for planes and the populace. But I know what you mean. Back then, in the 50’s we got letters from refugees, mostly Hungarian (I am) looking for relatives here. I don’t know what my parents did about this, if anything, but I do remember the men in my father’s quartet with the tattoos of the concentration camps in their arms. Blue ink I remember. I remember asking them what it was, and my father tried to correct me saying I was being rude. He was embarrassed. But they very kindly explained. They were Jews, we weren’t but they were also fabulous violinists and cello players. God Help Them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

