“Transition”

 

Kohut-Bartels-LS-3

(“Dawn Geese” Watercolor, 2004, Jane Kohut-Bartels)

 

Bjorn over at dversepoets pub is presenting a quadrille challenge, with the word ‘dawn’.  Quadrilles are poems of exactly 44 words.

Lady Nyo

 

Tender peach clouds at daybreak

Float over placid water.

The moon still hangs on

As dawn grows bolder.

Goddess Nut calls to her sleepy houri,

Tucking them under her belly.

I heard the earliest swallows

Twitter as they flew by,

Sharing the night’s gossip.

Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to ““Transition””

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    Oh I love this break of dawn.. the dawn growing bolder… and the swallows tweeting secrets… this is like one of those symphonic pieces depicting dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Oh! That’s lovely and very interesting. I did that painting listening to Dvorak years ago. Music is very inspiring to paint. And to poetry. Thanks, friend Bjorn! You made my day.

    Like

  3. georgeplace2013 Says:

    I felt like I was reading three sets of haiku. Just lovely

    Liked by 1 person

  4. frankhubeny Says:

    I liked this line: “Goddess Nut calls to her sleepy houri,”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thotpurge Says:

    the gossiping birds and the dawn growing bolder..great images!

    Like

  6. Grace Says:

    I love the painting and sounds in your poem Jane ~ Twitter away ~

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rosemawrites Says:

    Ooooh! Love the imagery and the dawn growing bolder! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kim881 Says:

    Your Quadrille starts so gently and quietly, Jane, and ends with the sound of birds – reminds me of ‘Morning’ from Peer Gynt by Grieg.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. maria Says:

    “Twitter as they flew by,
    Sharing the night’s gossip.”

    ~ I can’t help but smile at this. 🙂

    Like

  10. kanzensakura Says:

    I love this vision of dawn… And the painting is incredible. You have such a delicate yet strong hand with words and with your painting.

    Like

  11. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Toni! That is high praise indeed. You should see the clumsy paintings littering the floor! LOL! Perhaps my 10 year study of Japanese literature has made a difference in my painting…I do know it certainly has affected my writings. The delicacy of this foreign literature has impacted me greatly. Learning forms of tanka, haiku certainly have left their influence. Also, I went from oils to watercolor in 1995, and have rarely looked back. The wc gives me (a very impatient soul) the immediacy I crave (no drying time….LOL) and the delicacy of wash and brushes really feeds me. Watercolor is poo-pooed as an ‘unforgiving’ medium, but it isn’t. It just takes a bit of figuring out what tints are more easily washed out (erased) and what are more permanent stains. Of course, the under drawing is crucial (mostly!) but you can play around with that. Watercolor and poetry can mesh so well and easily. Thank you, Toni, for reading and your lovely, lovely comment. Deeply appreciate this!

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Yeah….when I wrote that (yesterday) I didn’t think of the Twitter site….(I don’t use Twitter) but it seems that many who have read this thought of tweeting and Twitter. LOL! Thank you, Maria!

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    Oh Kim! A great piece of music! I can hear what you mean! Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, rosemawrites! The dawn tends to do that! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Grace.

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, thotpurge!

    Like

  17. ladynyo Says:

    Me, too, Frank. Thanks for reading.

    Like

  18. ladynyo Says:

    Oh! I didn’t notice that! But perhaps you are right! Haiku can sneak into many pieces on tiptoe! LOL! Thank you for reading and your insightful comment. I will look for this invasion the next poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. rosemawrites Says:

    haha. i agree! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

