“Mystic Marriage”

DSCF2572

Sailboat, watercolor, Jane kohut-bartels, 2006

I’m removing this poem from the prompt at dversepoets pub.  It doesn’t really ‘meet’ the prompt and so it will be removed.

Lady Nyo.

Mino begs a gift of Poseidon-

From the sea comes a white bull.

 

Glorious Bull! With hooves of gold,

Eyes of fire and sweet of breath.

Pasiphae, Mino’s wife

Besotted with the sight of him

Begs Mino to spare his sword–

Offers her handmaidens

In sacrifice.

 

Tender-hearted Mino allows his queen

To rule his judgement,

All sense pushed aside–

Havoc soon overturns the throne.

 

Pasiphae builds a wooden cow

Now besotted with lust

Climbs into the decoy–

Seduces the golden- hoofed Bull.

 

The Minotaur is born,

Suckled from Pasiphae’s paps,

Grew wild and strong–

A labyrinth

Built as a prison to hold him.

 

Unnatural love-making produces

Unnatural Minotaur

Half man, half bull,

Given freedom only in a maze,

Fed on virgins of both sexes.

 

But Poseidon laughs last.

He was the gift, the snow white bull

And cuckolds Mino

For his greed.

 

Mystic marriage overturns a throne,

A kingdom,

Reveals the deception of a queen–

And produces monstrous offspring.

 

In the Minotaur’s maze

All paths lead to the grave.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2016

 

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to ““Mystic Marriage””

  1. frankhubeny Says:

    I vaguely remembered this story, but I don’t think I understood it until I read your version.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Frank! That’s high praise indeed, but don’t hang your knowledge hat on my version! LOL!~ I wrote this a while ago, and just updated a few words this morning, but it wasn’t a familiar story to me either. A few years back, I read Bulfinch and Edith Hamilton versions on a lot mythological creatures….this one was pretty obscure to me, but I went on to do a series of ‘versions’ of mythological characters…it was a lot of fun.

    Thank you, Frank for reading and making a comment.
    Jane

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nick Says:

    An intricate mythological story told with an economy of words. Very nicely done! With familial betrayals, rabid lusts, forbidden couplings, those Greek gods were nothing if not entertaining 🙂

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    ROTF! Yes, they were. Thank you, Nick. It is an intricate myth and one that I struggled to grasp. And as Victoria said, a disturbing one. Yes, those Greeks were quite the bunch…and not the Brady Bunch. LOL!
    I really love the Minotaur. I would like to do a separate story on him alone, but who would read it? Not too many people care about mythology, Greek, Roman or Celtic. And that is a great shame. Thank you, again, dear Friend Nick.

    Like

  5. kanzensakura Says:

    I think someone did a play or a story on the minotaur….can’t quite pick it out of the back of my brain. I always felt sorry for this guy who was so hideous, his father hid him in a maze. I liked your retelling of this muchly. But yes, those Greeks (and Romans) were a randy bunch with apparently, no inhibitions.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    thanks for reading and your comment, Toni. I despaired of anyone at dverse interested in this piece. I don’t k now if it is even close to the prompt, but to me it did seem so. thanks, again. a horrible day today full of evil.

    Like

  7. kanzensakura Says:

    I hope those people on whom you comment return the lovely favor….we at dVerse may fool you sometimes….

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Well, this isn’t an easy poem. I had my dear friend, Nick read it and give advice. he left a comment. He knows that I am a wild card at times….and post poems that don’t have much bearing on prompts….but I try.

    This myth is not the easiest to understand. Nick had to read it a couple of times to get his bearing and he’s a fast study. And is versed in mythology. There are people at dverse that read me, and people who don’t for their own reasons. but! since I fixed my computer this am….I now can easily get to other sites. so I did. A preemptive strike. LOL! We will see. I don’t hang my hat on comments anymore but I am more impressed with most of dverse this time around. the comment are deeper and more inventive. I think that directly speaks to the quality of poets there now.

    Like

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    I love to hear about the Minotaur… I only remembered that Daedalus build the maze… and a lovely painting to go with the poem.

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Bjorn. Glad you liked the painting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

