Birthday Party, a haibun

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

(“Peace in the East”….from my phone camera.)

Sometimes life gets so heavy you topple over, face in the soil.  So I’m posting this short ‘haibun’ to lighten up the load.  It’s a beautiful almost-Spring night, and everyone is tucked in their beds, and it’s almost silent outside.  No crickets yet, and too dark to see the sickle-swallows but the woodstove is empty and there is peace in the house.  Willow, the new kitty who was crippled at Christmas, had surgery yesterday (neutered) and he’s almost smiling. Haven’t heard a yowl yet, but he hasn’t looked in the mirror at his rear end.

There are kind parents in this world, even with major flaws.  My father was one of them.  He died too early, in November 1989.  I miss him terribly but he was a prime example of unconditional love, that issue that is denied by so many “Christians”.  He learned that from his big Hungarian family and a loving mother, my grandmother who died when I was just 12.

 

 

“Birthday Party”

Mean, spoiled Nancy Madsen was having her 10th birthday party. Nancy was always turned out in pretty dresses, with petticoats and a clean face. She had blond curly hair, like Shirley Temple, except without the talent. She was the youngest of three, so her mother took special care with her. My mother? Not so much. I was left to my own devices, and those weren’t always the best. There was no fairy godmother hovering over me.

I was sitting on a stool, stupidly too near the drop off onto the road beneath. I was taking a back seat, trying to disappear. Nancy’s mother didn’t like me much. Her dog, Freckles, a Dalmatian, had bit me in the eye the year before. She blamed me for ‘disturbing his nap.’ Back then there were no lawsuits or doctor visits for this ‘small stuff’. You had iodine slapped on the wound and went back to play. I remember being uneasy about her party, as my mother picked the gift herself. I didn’t know what she had wrapped up in gift paper. I was hoping it wasn’t my Betsy-Wetsy doll.

Nancy floated around the tables, playing birthday diva. She decided to sit on me. A big mistake for a lot of reasons, two of which I remember: One, I was deathly afraid Nancy would tip us over the cliff, and two….she was fat. I thought I wouldn’t survive this. I couldn’t breathe.

So I bit her. In the back. Nancy leaped up screaming and a general riot broke out. I couldn’t get out why I had bit her, but by the faces of the adults I knew I was no longer welcome.

My father ordered me to the car. I went, weeping, sitting in the back of the old Studebaker station wagon. I was very worried, mostly about the anger from my mother as soon as she heard what her only daughter had done. Not that she liked any of the adults at the party, and it was generally mutual, but it clearly was another failing of a daughter she really didn’t care for.

My father approached the car, his face beaming. “We won’t tell your mother about this. Let’s go get some Breyer’s ice cream.”

This wasn’t the first time my father stuck up for me. We were in a secret war against my mother until he died. He was my best friend though I didn’t appreciate it then. I do now.

 

Childhood is tough

Adults are the enemy

Kids fodder for wars

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Birthday Party, a haibun”

  1. emangarduque Says:

    wow! this really lightens up me now. thank you! i really like it. i will be reading more of your write. 🙂

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    thank you for reading and your comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kanzensakura Says:

    PS I love the painting you did.

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Toni. That is an old one…when I was doing oils. Probably 20 years old. I used to love still lives but got away from them to landscape painting. Now? Birds and little else. Sob. Thank you for noticing this painting. Most people don’t…they are like ‘white noise’ to most. LOL!

    Like

  5. kanzensakura Says:

    That is often the circumstance when using a picture to “illustrate” a poem. But it is a lovely painting.

    Like

  6. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, and THANK YOU for noticing these works. That painting has a lot of crackle in it. Instead of gesso, I remember I used house paint. LOL! That is not good for presevation. But it is what it is. That melon still looks fresh. I remember painting it and all the fruit flies that came visiting. LOL!

    Like

  7. kanzensakura Says:

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

