Some short poems or possibly Tanka….

For my poetical friends, but especially Kanzen Sakura…..

Watercolor, Salisbury, janekohut-bartels, 2005

(“The Downs”, watercolor, Jane Kohut-Bartels, 2003)

The rain has finally stopped, and the sun is brilliant in the sky this morning. The mosquitoes are flying and the birds singing.  How can you not love life?  Even the garbage men this am add to the earth song with their clanging cans and motorized groan of the truck.

Lady Nyo

 

Mist drifts in waves
Ribbon-ing maple branches
The rising of moon
Make Egrets shimmer silver-
Gauzy ghosts of nothingness.

How could I forget
The beauty of the pale moon
A face of sorrow
Growing thin upon the tide
No one but she visits me.

The moon floats on wisps
Of clouds extending outward.
Tendrils of white fire
Blanketing the universe
Gauzy ghosts of nothingness.

Presence of Autumn
Burst of color radiates
From Earth-bound anchors
Sun grabs prismatic beauty
And tosses the spectrum wide!


Cranes wheeled in the sky
Their chiding cries fell to hard earth
Warm mid winter day
A pale half moon calls the birds
To stroke her face with soft wings.


Glimpse of a white wrist
Feel the pulse of blood beneath-
This is seduction!
But catch a wry, cunning smile
One learns all is artifice.

Overhead, the cranes,
Sandhills– swirl in broad circles.
Broken GPS?
No matter, their cries fall down
Celestial chiding rain.

The full moon above
Floats on blackened velvet seas
Poet’s perfection!
But who does not yearn for a
Crescent in lavender sky?

In this single branch
Of a wintry holly,
A hundred words hide.
A thousand blushes appear.
Do not overlook the thorns.

So lonely am I
My soul like a floating weed
Severed at the roots
Drifting upon cold waters
No pillow for further dreams.

Like the lithe bowing
Of a red maple sapling
My heart turns to you,
Yearns for those nights long ago
When pale skin challenged the moon.

Shooting star crosses
Upended bowl of deep night
Imagination
Fires with excited gaze.
A moment– and all is gone.


Jane Kohut-Bartels
Copyrighted, 2008-2017

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Some short poems or possibly Tanka….”

  1. kanzensakura Says:

    These are all so lovely dear Jane. Yes. I think they are tanka! I submitted a quadrille for this past Monday. It is good to hear your voice through these tanka and to know life is good for you.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Hello, Sweetheart! You are always in my thoughts. I’m glad you did the quadrille. I had a burned out computer so missed it. Just got this back yesterday. Electrical storm.
    I no longer know what is tanka or not. Well, I know when I see them, but I write them so rarely..properly. But it doesn’t really matter as we write for ourselves and our friends who care.

    My love and best wishes to you, dearheart. Perhaps soon I’ll show up at dverse. Would like to do OLN.

    Hugs, Jane

    Like

  3. sarahrussellpoetry Says:

    I especially love this one.

    Cranes wheeled in the sky
    Their chiding cries fell to hard earth
    Warm mid winter day
    A pale half moon calls the birds
    To stroke her face with soft wings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Sarah. That one is going to be published in d’versepoets new anthology. I believe some one there on the staff has corrected the tense. LOL! A lot of my poetry can be corrected for a myriad of things. And thank you. I like that one, too. There are a few I can’t find for some reason, but I will try to search my documents for them.

    Like

  5. Hélène Says:

    Dear Jane, always a delight to hear your heart song through your poetry. This is especially beautiful.
    PS …just got back to Word Press in the last few days after what seemed to me like a long absence. I owe you an e-mail.

    Like

  6. frankhubeny Says:

    I liked the line “No pillow for further dreams.”

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Frank. Hopefully you found a few more lines to like. LOL!

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Dear Helene! You worried the stuffing out of me! LOL! I am so glad to hear from you. So glad you liked the poetry. I need to get back to formal tanka and tone up my verse. I’m slipping a lot on this. And yes, let’s talk. You are such a good poet and I hold these kind close to my heart!
    Sending love and hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

