“The River”…..a poem

 

from website: halfhearted dude...and thank you.

from website: halfhearted dude…and thank you.

Maybe it’s all this green pollen floating around the air, the fertilizer for nature’s coming bounty. Whatever it is, there is a quickening, a thump in our guts as our thoughts turn to love and sex which is natural as we are also part of this season’s bounty.

Lady Nyo

 

THE RIVER

 

The sun streams in the window

Like a jarring benediction

From a loud-mouthed priest.

 

It falls upon us

As we spoon asleep

Your back turned to me

My nose on your skin

Breathing in the miracle of you.

 

Last night, our first in spent passion,

That particular coin flowed like a river

Between us.

You brought towels

To clean up the waters left by the flood.

 

Bending over me

Parting my thighs with your hands

I wanted you to leave the damp alone

And slide

Into the still wet, faintly pulsing dark chasm

My hollow jerking and twisting at the end of you

 

But instead

I curled up like a fiddle-head fern

And embraced your dark head with my hands

Pulling your mouth to my own 

And we flowed down that river again.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2014

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to ““The River”…..a poem”

  1. Fred Says:

    And I thought “Seasoning of Lust” was hot. This gave me a boner just reading it.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Ahem….you eat with that mouth? For those who don’t know, this is my husband of many years. I am glad he still can get a boner. LOL!

    More, I’m glad he reads my blog and poetry.

    Love, Jane

    Like

  3. TR Says:

    LOL! Spring fever, this reminds me of university days, where ‘spring love’ was in the air. Well, for young adults, lust more than love. An exhilarating poem. xxTR

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Hi TR! I bet you are going to be one of the very few who dares to comment on this poem. LOL! We are such prudes…..My husband was being provocative, so I provoked him. He didn’t think I would post his comment, so I did. Men. Husbands. LOL!

    Oh, by the way, this was the poem stolen by some woman who thought herself a poet, but wasn’t about to do the work to become one. She rewrote it with tacky results,(her attempts at eroticism were horrible) posted it, put her name on it and I was alerted by the webmaster of that poetry site. She was promptly banned. That’s what happens to thieves.

    Thank you, sweetie, for reading and your comment. Yep, I remember that lust. Sigh.

    Hugs, Jane

    Like

  5. claudia Says:

    this is beautiful.. and i think our love life says much about our personality as well… if someone is caring, he will be as well in bed… a very intimate glimpse into your life jane….

    Like

  6. brian miller Says:

    ha. well you both are full of passion it seems..
    i like the intimacy of just being together as much as the more physical…the laying close together…breathing each other in…
    riding the river can be quite the adventure…

    Like

  7. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Brian…well, that title “The River” can have quite a lot of references….lol.

    I like the intimacy, too…that has (hopefully) the staying power in a marriage…but so many times, it doesn’t. And that preplexes me.

    Thank you, Brian, for reading and your comment. Will be over later tonight.

    Jane

    Like

  8. ladynyo Says:

    Hi Claudia….I thought quite a while before posting this poem on my blog and then on dversepoets. And I agree that our love life says much about our personalities….hopefully in a good way. Though I have known people who aren’t ‘good’ either in bed or out of it.

    Intimacy is so important in a marriage…and it has so many avenues…and at times is so simple a thing. Comforting the other I think is where it begins.

    Thank you, Claudia for reading and your lovely comment…I’ll be over tomorrow.

    Jane

    Like

  9. Grace Says:

    I love the intimacy Jane ~ Beautifully & tastefully written, smiles ~

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    LOL!! Hi Grace! I was a bit worried about that ‘tasteful’ issue. LOL! Funny enough, this poem was stolen last year (wrote about it in a blog entry “Stolen Poetry”) by a woman who garbled it up: made it nasty and tasteless. She put her name on it and posted it on a poetry website I had never heard of, and the owner of the website contacted me. The thief said ” she just liked it”…as if this was excuse enough. Stealing it was bad enough…LOL~! But rewriting it into trashy garbage was the REAL offense. LOL!

    Thank you, Grace, for reading and your comment. I’ll be over to your blog tomorrow.

    Jane

    Like

  11. billgncs Says:

    sensual – but the expression of love always is, these are beautiful words.

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you for reading and leaving a comment.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  13. billgncs Says:

    I laughed out loud at your husband’s comment.

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    Oh, he’s a card alright. He didn’t think I would post his comment, and was horrified when I did. LOL!

    He shouldn’t poke the bear…..

    Like

  15. grapeling Says:

    whew!

    then, like Bill, laughing at your husband’s comment. (I quite think he’d like to poke the bear. ahem.) ~

    Like

  16. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Yes, he would, but he has to ask first.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  17. Fred Says:

    Yes, poking the bear brings out the animal in both of us. It is nice to know we can still roar after almost 30 years together. Love and Kisses, Fred

    Like

  18. ladynyo Says:

    Yep, you are my anchor. Easter afternoon was lovely with those wind chimes at the top of our bed. Talk about celestial music! Those baritone chimes make all the difference.

    Love, Jane

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.