“Quiet Birds!”

 

For my dear friend, Steve New,  originally from Devon, UK, who disappeared in 2002 and just turned up again, healthy and now in France. Steve was a  Master Falconer, a major inspiration in my paintings of birds,  he and his Harris Hawk, Sigi and his mews of Eagle Hawks and Barn Owls, etc. I think there was a Goshawk in there or two…..and his great generosity to an apprentice falconer and new bird painter.  This poem dedicated to him and our friendship.

0403whe-r01-016

(Watercolor, jane kohut-Bartels, 1995, Nuthatches)

Over at dversepoets pub, it’s Open Link Night, without a prompt, where you get to post a poem of your choice.  Come read the  poets there,  and get inspired…

Lady Nyo

 

QUIET BIRDS

 

Quiet birds!

Your chatter adds crystallized chaos

To last night’s tokaji clouding the brain.

My eyes open with reluctance

To splinters of light

Challenging soft, painful membranes.

 

 

 

The smell of black coffee cuts

Into the reality I am no longer young.

A night like last should be wrapped in tissue

Locked deep in a trunk,

To find when I am past temptations-

Having room only for memories and regrets.

 

 

 

Quiet birds.

The day looks promising.

I await a new flock of metaphors

With polished feathers

Landing on my shoulders,

Weighing me down-

Colorful daydreams,

Peacock words,

Bird of Paradise thoughts!

 

 

For some reason,

Words, whole paragraphs,

Circle my head, then

Flap off in a thunder of wings.

 

I hear laughter of rude crows,

See a mess of bird droppings,

And with a few cracked seeds begin my penitence-

Starvation wages for a poor poet,

Left to a flightless life.

 

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2017

Tags: , ,

33 Responses to ““Quiet Birds!””

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) Says:

    Ha.. love the theme of those birds… they can feel like a nuisance after a tokaji night… though I find that sometimes my muse come visiting while I have hangover.

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Being half Hungarian, this is true. LOL! Thanks, Bjorn.

    Like

  3. Jane Dougherty Says:

    It’s years since I tasted Tokaji. I bet it gives a stonking hangover that would make even the blackbird’s song sound like crows tearing some carrion to pieces. Lovely bird imagery. I especially like the thunder of wings.

    Like

  4. paul scribbles Says:

    I love this and put of the flock these words really landed on my shoulder

    “A night like last should be wrapped in tissue

    Locked deep in a trunk,

    To find when I am past temptations-

    Having room only for memories and regrets.”

    If only there was a place past temptation 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kanzensakura Says:

    First of all, I love the painting of the nuthatches. I love those little tree creepers. Wonderful poem. The last stanza says it all – but then again, those peacock words….a day of hangover is rarely worth it the next day. but you make it sound like an inspiration.

    Like

  6. hypercryptical Says:

    As I age I know of the need of tissues…
    Alcohol certainly feeds my creative juices – just make sure I don’t post until the day after…
    I understand about the birds too…
    Love your painting and of course your words.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bev Says:

    I must admit I had to ask my fiend Google about tokaji. With his help, it all came together! So beautifully written. A great read.

    Like

  8. frankhubeny Says:

    I liked how you described the anticipation of the “flock of metaphors” only to be followed by the “laughter of rude crows” and “penitence”.

    Like

  9. ladynyo Says:

    Thanks, Frank. This poem was inspired by a commercial on tv: a composer is sitting at his piano, and just plunking down random, atonal chords. Outside are electrical wires, in a musical formation…with birds. LOL! The birds fly off the staff and he begins to play wonderful music! Thanks, Frank.

    Like

  10. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Bev. What would we all do without Google??? LOL!

    Like

  11. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Anna. Age has some benefits….

    Like

  12. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Well, I’m guessing since I don’t drink. And thank you, Toni for your lovely praise. I love that simple painting, just some wash and not too much. LOL! Inspiration I guess we can find anywhere.

    Like

  13. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Paul,, I think temptation finds us out regardless our hiding from it. LOL! Thank you, Paul…forreading and your lovely comment.

    Like

  14. ladynyo Says:

    LOL~ Yes, tokaji is a killer but not so bad as Bulls Blood. That is a real killer. There are beautiful tokajis that taste like liquid sunshine…but who can afford them? 70.00 for a small bottle! I was given one by my dear husband a few years ago…I will never forget the liquid explosion of glory in my mouth!

    Like

  15. Nan Mykel Says:

    So many wonderful lines! In addition to all the others, I can relate to “bird droppings.”

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Jane Dougherty Says:

    I worked in the wine trade and we sold Hungarian wines. Tokaji I loved. It was my ambition to try the Essencia but never met anyone rich enough to buy me a bottle 🙂

    Like

  17. ladynyo Says:

    I did…my husband! He squandered big money on a bottle and it was…well, divine. I nursed that bottle for over a year. LOL!

    Like

  18. ladynyo Says:

    LOL! Thank you, Nan…you made me laugh. Yes, I can relate to that, too. Thank you for reading and leaving a comment. Today I make the rounds…..

    Like

  19. Jane Dougherty Says:

    It’s a good thing you can’t see me. Green isn’t a flattering colour 🙂

    Like

  20. kim881 Says:

    Brilliant opening lines, Jane, giving the birds a telling-off – great phrase ‘crystallized chaos’ and an effective description of a hangover! I also love the lines:
    ‘A night like last should be wrapped in tissue
    Locked deep in a trunk’
    and ,
    ‘I await a new flock of metaphors
    With polished feathers
    Landing on my shoulders,
    Weighing me down’.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. ladynyo Says:

    Well,….my darling Aunt owned a vineyard in Hungary. She died at 102 in 2014. I miss her tremendously. She was not a drinker, but she steered me to the ‘proper’ wines. LOL! Of course, they were all out of my price range, but my husband (out of his price range too…but love finds a way…) sprung for this. LOL! Once in a life time treat.

    Like

  22. Jane Dougherty Says:

    Essencia does guarantee immortality, I believe 🙂

    Like

  23. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Kim….I love this poem for a number of reasons. I wrote it for my Hungarian Aunt who loved my poetry and was a fierce Hungarian Nationalist! She owned a vineyard (and a forest, villages, rather feudal back then in pre World War II time…she is the reason I am a poet. No one else. I’m so glad you liked this poem, Kim. I like the stanza: “For some reason, they fly off”..Thank you, again. Perhaps some day at dverse there can be a discussion on forms of poetry…like lyrical, narrative, etc. These seem to escape the interests of most there. I don’t know what ‘kind’ of poetry I write.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. ladynyo Says:

    Actually, I think it was Louis the 14th who declared Essencia the wine of Kings. And with its price, that is about the only ones who can drink it.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Jane Dougherty Says:

    Well, he didn’t have to pay his bills, did he?

    Like

  26. ladynyo Says:

    Louis the Dead? Nah.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Hélène (Mother Willow) Says:

    It is absolutely lovely. I can see it all though mostly I feel the emotions that are attached to the words.
    We have nasty pigeons here in the summer that take over our balconies. Not mine as I am the vigilant chaser with my waving arms and scary sounds to deter them off. The love to leave their marks, blobs of icky poo on railings. The pigeons here are diseased and it is a real challenged to clean up their poo so you don’t inhale or touch any of it. Who has taken over, we humans, or the birds….answer is easy peasie…..

    Like

  28. ladynyo Says:

    Oh, Send me the pigeons!! A couple of drops of Oil of Oregano and they will be diseased no more!

    Thannk you, Helene for reading and your lovely comment. Do you know what the pigeon disease is? Poor birds….

    Hugs! Jane

    Like

  29. Hélène (Mother Willow) Says:

    I have no idea other than it is a wide known warning not to touch or inhale their droppings. Whether they themselves are diseased or we can catch some kind infection or disease from them, I don’t quite remember. Anyway, they have been banned from many public places in around the city as well as definitely around my place.

    Like

  30. lillian Says:

    Beautiful painting – beautiful words. I especially love the second stanza. I trust your friend is okay After reappearing?

    Like

  31. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Lillian. Most people don’t even see the paintings…sad.
    I try to fit my paintings to each poem….sometimes it works, some times it doesn’t.

    Yes, he was diabetic, and had a kidney and pancreas transplant, and is not diabetic anymore and is very healthy. I am so delighted that he has reappeared in my life. He was my ‘agent’ (painting) in UK and I really missed him….but now he lives in France….in a very rural area, and is very happy along with his lovely wife. It’s so good when people survive and are happy after these things.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. www.dailystrength.org Says:

    http://www.dailystrength.org

    “Quiet Birds!” | Lady Nyo's Weblog

    Like

  33. indoor playground equipment Says:

    indoor playground equipment

    “Quiet Birds!” | Lady Nyo's Weblog

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.