“Plum Snow”

Plum Tree on the cusp of Spring

“Plum Snow”

The soft white petals

Of plum trees are blowing around,

A winter-spring snow storm.

The brook is still choking on ice

With a promise of babble to come.

I raise my arms to

Heaven, and yell:

“Give over this rawness of Nature!”

Then in more pleading tones:

“Bring warmth to the marrow,

Comfort with gentler winds.”

Today I hug life

And buy its promise.

Tomorrow I don’t know

But today I do.

Jane Kohut-Bartels

Copyrighted, 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to ““Plum Snow””

  1. kseverny Says:

    You’ve done a great job with this one

    Like

  2. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you! I see you also are a poet….

    Freeverse is more difficult than it seems in the beginning. Unnecessary words prevail sometimes…a sharp knife helps.

    Thank you for reading and commenting….and Welcome!

    Lady Nyo

    Like

  3. Berowne Says:

    Very nice. I loved “Give over this rawness of Nature!”

    There are rows of fragrant pink plum trees in our neighborhood; when they shed their petals the sidewalks are clothed in pale rose-colored drifts. How are the magnolias in your area coming along?

    P.S. Since all the other verbs in the poem are present tense, maybe
    > I raised my arms
    should be
    > I raise my arms ?

    Like

  4. ladynyo Says:

    Thank you, Berowne, for reading and your lovely comment.

    I raised my arms…to I raise my arms??? Probably….You know me and tenses….they don’t seem to register!

    I’ll change it!

    Too early for the magnolias…but! I see some peonies in the front garden, and this is probably early….EVERYTHING is early.

    Oh!! PINK plum trees!!! You are so lucky. I have the white ones….but they are like snow. I am looking out my second story window at them (two) and they are starting to turn green. The snowstorm should start soon!

    Thanks for stopping by. I have another few plum-themed poems….IF I could find them. Before the plums are history.

    Lady Nyo

    Like

Leave a Reply

